Cheesecloth and Clogs

I got an absolute craving today to slip into a brightly coloured check cheesecloth shirt  and a pair of yellow/gold clogs with backs on them  like I had in the Summers of the mid-1970s, just after I left school.

I know I don’t have any photos from that era because I had gone camera shy and anyway this was about touch and scent ~ not just appearance.

I used to go on day trips to Dublin with my older sister back them. She’s five and a bit years older than me and knew the ropes. We’d make for the Dandelion Market off Grafton Street and the smell of burning incense would waft around us as we ran our hands along the rails of trendy clothes and tried on clogs of colour with lovely soft leather uppers.

I had one perfect pair of clogs that lasted me for years until the leather binding frayed so much that I had to cast them to the dustbin of my late teenage years. I never managed to find another pair that had the same softness, flair, daring and, yes, comfort.

I had a quick look at google images of clogs and cheesecloth shirts this evening but they didn’t bring me anywhere near those heady days when we’d treat  ourselves to the best burgers in town in Captain America’s before taking the train home to Drogheda with our purchases bulging in their psychedelic paper bags. The cheesecloth shirts, always with a little square of blue to match them up with flared denims, simply danced with colour and wovenness.

One of the most memorable trips ended with us going to Ken Russell’s film Mahler which had just reached Drogheda. Big Sis wanted to see it so I tagged along, only to be totally captivated and high on culture when we finally said goodbye to a day that we both sort of suspected would linger long in our memories.

No photos but perfect recall of a hot, sunny June night ~ early Summer in every sense.

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

25 thoughts on “Cheesecloth and Clogs”

  1. Ummm, very neat Jean – peaceful, safe feeling of enjoyment. Ah, the days of yore.

    Great Post. Thank You for sharing your private memories Jean. They are treasured, it is obvious.

  2. The miracle of remembering what was…and with a good imagination I can picture what you’re wearing…We all have favorite things from way back then…I can remember outfits that I wore in grade school through high school and how I loved them so. Somethings were hard to part with but every thing has a shelf life…

  3. What an absolutely lovely story, and the best kind: pictures painted in the mind with words. It was so easy to visualize the shirts, bell-bottoms, psychodelic colors. I was a few years before you in that phase of my life, but I was reminded of my favorite navy blue with white polka dots bellbottoms and headband, and my white leather clogs that were about 3 inches of platform–great for when it rained and you had to step off a curb! Later, in mid to late 70s would come the hip-hugger jeans, tied at the midriff shirts, and the shag haircut. 🙂

  4. Wouldn’t you know, I’m pretty sure I have my 70s clogs (somewhere). I’m surprised I haven’t found them yet; I’m pretty sure I saw them a few years ago and didn’t do anything with them. I clearly remember visiting my great-aunt in Oklahoma, being called to the phone to talk to my mother. “I heard you coming,” she told me, “clomp-clomp-clomp, here comes Sandy.”

    1. Oh you make me smile, Sandy.
      Got me thinking, too, about steel pieces I used to put on the heels of my school shoes to make a strong clicking sound. I thought it was ultra cool!
      I hope you unearth the clogs and post a pic of them.

Leave a Reply

