Heart

Heart

The heart is your student  
for love is the only way we learn.
Night has no choice but to grab the feet of daylight.
It's as if I see Your Face everywhere I turn.
It's as if Love's radiant oil
never stops searching
for a lamp in which to burn

Rumi

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

8 thoughts on “Heart”

  1. O.K. then. I loved the poem,and had no clue who Rum was so I looked him up. Holy smokes. He is a giant. 750 years ago he lived on the other side of the world and his work is amongst the mostly widely read poetry in the US and has been translated for distribution in many countries. He was a huge influence in many areas.

    i can’t believe in 58 years I hadn’t even heard of him. Thanks so much for the poem Jean, it is beautiful.

  2. Very beautiful…Here is another “Time is too slow for those who wait; Too swift for those who fear; Too long for those who grieve; Too short for those who rejoice, but for those who love…Time is Eternity” ..Henry Van Dyke …

  3. It makes me think of the class I just finished teaching–not that we were about love, but about the heart is the student. I love this class (teaching group therapy) since we co-created it as a parallel process of teaching the therapist to be a group therapist through a training the group leader group. The heart is your student and while not “love” in the sense used here, love in the sense of mutual respect and willingness to put the other’s well-being as parallel to one’s own, has been the most amazing teacher for me to learn all over again why I love this work.

    I do confess to expecting to see a photograph of a heart made with stones from the sea, and was looking forward to it, and feeling a bit smug in my knowingness, only to be surprised. That is another amazing teacher for the heart is the student, too, and what I am trying to facilitate these students to accept: we do not always know what is next, so one must be open to the inquiry and the experience before deciding what you think you know. 🙂

Leave a Reply

