How Best to Use the Reader?

I’ve been depending on the Reader since my recent blogging break and feel I’m not using it to good effect.

I’d love to know how those of you who use it, rather than email notifications, operate with it.

For example, how often do you check it? How do you make sure you don’t miss posts? Do you have strict limitations on the numbers of blogs you follow.

All tips and ideas welcome before I head back to my old ways!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

36 thoughts on “How Best to Use the Reader?”

  1. I don’t use a reader just e-mail so I can’t help you here..if you were to transmit via reader would that leave us e-mailers out? If so I will not be able to be active…

    1. No worries, Joni. The emails will continue. The Reader is an option that WordPress gives bloggers as a way of reading blogs they follow. It’s a bit like FaceBook timeline.

  2. I try to skim the Reader every day and pick out those posts that look most interesting. I have so many blogs I follow now that I couldn’t possibly read them all every day. But sometimes I miss posts by my favorite bloggers – I don’t know if it’s the fault of the Reader or that I’m simply not scrolling down far enough – and then I have to go look for them.

    1. Thanks for your comment. You’ve hit on the main problems I’m having with the Reader. It could be that I, too, follow a lot of blogs. I think we could be scrolling forever!
      I’ve been finding nyself going off in search of favourite blogs and being inundated with posts on the Reader from prolific posters.

  3. Hey Jean! I don’t use the reader either. I sort through posts via e-mail. It just seems easier that way since I work a FT job I have a hard time reading them in a timely manner. This way I can read at my own pace or save my favorites ☺

  4. There seems to be no easy way if you follow a lot of blogs. It seems rather like the newsfeed on Facebook. I follow favorites via e-mail and try to catch others via Reader. I can always go directly to a blog, but I do miss many. So many blogs…so little time! I will be looking for tips from others also from this post.

    1. Hi CC, seems like we’re kindred spirits . The newsfeed aspect puts me off ( reminds me of FB which I left some time back as it annoyed me more than anything and seemed to gobble time with little reward.)

  5. Dear Jean, I find that I don’t have the time to go through the reader every day, so I try and do it once a week, and though very enjoyable I am finding it very time consuming. Like you I am also worried about missing posts, and I am sure that I frequently do unfortunately. It also depends on how many people you are following I guess 🙂 it is like another blogger said, so many blogs and so little time! 🙂 Kind regards to you.

    1. Hi Agnes, I think emails are the best bet the more I reflect on all this and perhaps a close look at numbers followed. Yes, the Reader seems okay for a quick look if nothing better to do but really it seems endless and not likely to be the best way to ensure one gets to read favourite blogs.

      1. Thinking about it more I think you are right Jean, these days I often just have time to check on those of my followers that ‘like’ or ‘comment’ on my blog, it is a quick way to catch up, and I know my regulars too, so check them.

    1. Thanks Dave. As a matter of interest what’s your limit and how do you decide which to follow? Also, do you use the Reader with the limited numbers or stick to email?

        1. Thanks for elaborating Dave. Sounds like a good approach. I won’t ask about the 3 exceptions but I’m curious all the same!
          As for the 50, do they change much from year to year? I can see that following just 50 would make the reader usable. I suspect you came to this plan through experimentation?

  6. How timely of you to ask this question, Jean. This morning I’ve blocked all my emails from WordPress in my settings until I can figure out how to keep up with everything. My mailbox is jammed with hundreds of emails from all the blogs I follow (I seem to follow a lot of bloggers who post frequently). I’m going to give the reader more of my time and see how that goes. Those blogs that I interact with the most, I will individually set back to email notification and turn off the rest and then unblock email settings again in WordPress. This is the only way I can think of doing it – unless anyone knows of a less complicated way.

    1. Jean, glad this came at a good time. I don’t think you’ll find the Reader suiting you any more than I do. I am definitely going to go back to emails but in a tough way and use the Reader to catch up with many I follow who post more than once daily. Clearly, it’s impossible to read everything unless one follows only a very select few.

  7. Hi Jean! I am an awful blogger these days, I just found out of a bunch of comments which i did not reply for three weeks. Shame on me! I my good days, i use the reader and not the email.

    1. No you’re not an awful blogger! I’ll take that back for you straight away.
      Who among us has not found unanswered comments after a lot longer than three weeks, I ask?

Leave a Reply

