Waiting Time

I’m a bit of a punctuality freak so find myself with a lot of waiting time in all sorts of different contexts.

I’ve learned over the years that there is an art involved in putting waiting time to good use.

The thing is that one person’s idea of ‘good use’ could be another’s perception of waste.

‘Good use’ of waiting time, for me, includes: deep breathing; reciting favourite lines of poetry to myself; listening to the radio; jotting down ideas for blog posts; observing nature.

20150905_201933
Waiting Time

If I think about waiting time in my youth, I always hear the tick-tock of the big wooden clock that lived in the kitchen. Each second made its mark then and each second should make its mark now even if the clocks no longer tick out loud.

How do YOU wait?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

41 thoughts on “Waiting Time”

  1. Ha! Sit me in a chair and I’ll just go to sleep unless something interesting is going on. Ha! The hospital was doing some construction and so switched the pick up door for my dialysis ride. I got out early one evening and had to wait an hour so I pulled up a wheelchair facing the door, set my bag next to the chair and fell asleep. I woke up at 1 am, long past the latest pick-up time. ha! I was fuming that they left me there. I just went back to dialysis and they gave me a taxi chit to get home – Ha! ZZZZZZZZ

      1. Oh yes, basic is key! I like to keep several projects on the go at all times. One that’s simple and interruption-proof, plus at least one other more complex and/or bulky… Then just grab it ‘n go, or plunk yourself down and stitch! πŸ˜€ β™₯ ❀

  2. I don’t wait very well, if it’s something I really want to do… and I wait very patiently for the events I don’t want to be a part of in any way… πŸ™‚

    Beautiful picture…

  3. The odd thing is, we can’t experience time itself, only phenomena that occur in time. We often imagine we’re experiencing time whilst waiting, and get frustrated as a result. If we abandon the frustration, along with the idea of waiting, then we experience neither it nor time, and all is well.

  4. If at home , I pick up my knitting, at an office I look for magazines that draw my interest. In a car I listen to a CD either a favorite musician or a novel being read or a local talk show on the a.m. station. Sometimes in a waiting room if their are things to look at like “objects D art” I will look at depth at them. Sometimes I people watch…I hate waiting in line though, but then here is when people watching comes in. I do not own a cell phone so I don’t get distracted this way.

    1. Hi Joni, I was expecting people to mention using Smart Phones and the like. You’re the only one who has but in a way I didn’t anticipate.
      Waiting in line is a bit of a pain alright but a good time to do pelvic floor exercises!!!

  5. Interesting topic, Jean! Yes, things are a little diffrent now, call it wisdom or not. I still disagree with those who are not in time thus I do not get so mad… as your wooden clock πŸ™‚

    1. Oh I’ve had to go through that business of getting mad at people being late. It’s such a waste of energy and I don’t think there’s any use trying to change the unpunctual types. They tend to be very nice people, I find, but just have no sense of how being late impacts on other people.

  6. I like the idea of shifting from waiting to being. Waiting for something takes us out of the present and into what is about to happen. There is a gem here Jean ✨

  7. Hi Jean,

    A very interesting question that you pose. As former Type A person, I used to hate waiting. I would just get so impatient. But thanks to yoga and meditation, I have learned to be patient and to actually enjoy this “down” time. I use it to meditate, people watch, compose my “to-do” list for the day, think of new blog topics or just daydream.

    Nancy

  8. Painting, walking in a place where nature captures me, writing are favorite ways for me to make waiting time fly! Speaking of letting nature capture me, taking and looking at photos are another way, which brings me back to your gorgeous ‘Waiting Time’ photo that heads this post!

  9. As I get older, I enjoy the waiting period – I know, right? Who does? I figure it is a pause that is “forced” on me to reflect, to be in the moment, to take stock of my surroundings. And if the time is longer, then, I have something to read and always, always have pen and notebook in hand. And should I get bored of that… well there’s always Facebook on the smart phone, eh? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

