The Wonder of Ordinariness

We love our horses in Ireland and throughout March I have been very conscious of all the big racing festivals in which Irish horses, trainers, owners and jockeys have been doing so well. Cheltenham was the biggy but The Irish Grand National in Fairyhouse in Co. Meath is also a very big affair.

While all these were going on, I found myself looking at horses grazing the fields while I was out and about and one pony kept catching my eye.

Pony
‘Pensive’

I’ve christened him Pensive as he always looks like he’s deep in thought. Clearly he’s never going to be featuring at something like the Cheltenham Festival but he has an appeal that I can’t quite explain.

It’s got to to with having a charm and a certain poise in spite of not being a celebrity in the horsey world. I’d stop and have a little chat with him on days when the big Festivals were on and think how he is so like the vast majority of people. Only a tiny percentage rise to the top and become household names around the world but that doesn’t mean that they are any less special to those who love them for who they are.

In a world in which ‘celebrities’ are more and more talked about, it is all too easy to forget the wonder and unique qualities within ‘ordinariness.’

I don’t care the Pensive didn’t win the Cheltenham Gold Cup; I don’t care that someone isn’t a world renowned writer….. What matters to me is that they bring joy  by being who they are; that they make me think; and that they reveal the extraordinariness that lies within the so often taken-for-granted  ‘ordinariness’ that is both within us all  and all around us.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

28 thoughts on “The Wonder of Ordinariness”

    1. This made me smile as it reminded me of when my big brother was about three and our mother had just come home from being away for a few days. He said to her: ‘What did you brought me?’ She gave him a present of something like a few little dinky cars and saw a look of disappointment on his face and asked what he had expected. His response; ‘ Well, I was hoping for a live horse.’ Mother never, ever forgot that little exchange as she had been fortunate enough to have a pony when she grew up on a farm.

  1. Such a pretty horse..Pensive…he does look like he’s in deep thought like a wise sage. I think he’s happy about where he is..he looks contented..

  2. What a beautiful pony! And since I visited Ireland for my first time last September, I can just picture a pony like Pensive grazing in the green meadows. So peaceful! A nice reminder of Ireland 🙂

  3. I agree with you, Jean! The little Pensive is such a cutie. Just this morning hearing “those ordinary sparrows’ songs” made my day! I said to myself, that’s all what it takes to be happy… Again, great connection in Europe 🙂

  4. Pensive is so cute 🙂 Most of people are just ordinary people, but because of them this world doesn’t stop spinning. Most of horses just bring joy – what else can we ask from them?

Leave a Reply

