Live Life

Life

I don’t want to get to the end of my life and find that I have lived just the length of it. I want to have lived the width of it as well.

( Diane Ackerman)

I love this quote and it made me think of the road out near Ballyscanlon Lake here in Co. Waterford. You could be driving along this lovely winding road and not think to look over the high hedge. Lying beneath is one of the most delightful lakes I know:

Ballyscanlon Lake, Co. Waterford
Ballyscanlon Lake, Co. Waterford

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

23 thoughts on “Live Life”

  1. We must stop and “Smell the Roses”..and take the time to see what’s around us and stop having tunnel vision…I like this picture as it beckons to see what is around the turn…because of the hedge and the narrow road, I can see why many a person would just proceed without taking notice..We are so use to following the rules of the road and keeping alert that we bypass many treasures….not taking the time to explore..

  2. Jean, if I continue the pursuit of the width of things, I’m gonna need to get a bigger saddle for my motorcycle.

  3. I love the quote…my problem if I choose to call it that…and I don’t but others have…is that I find it easy to go on a tangential exploration…”stick to the main task Olga”…is a familiar refrain…but to day-dream is the stuff of life:):)

Leave a Reply

