Good Friday and Peace

The Good Friday Agreement of 1998 was a fundamental part of the Peace Process in Northern Ireland.

I simply cannot let a Good Friday go by without giving thanks to every single person who was involved in bringing that Agreement about.

There was a time when it seemed like the Island of Ireland  would never see the level of peace that prevails today. It is something that we should never, ever take for granted and it is also something which should be viewed as a beacon of hope by those who are subsumed by pessimism about ongoing violence.

Paths of peace DO exist.

IMG_6215
The Stepping Stones of Peace

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

29 thoughts on “Good Friday and Peace”

      1. I couldn’t agree more. I also greatly enjoyed the message in your post about being able to speak of loved ones, and the joy in remembering. It resonated deeply with me. I may not always comment, but I always feel words. Hugs.

  1. It is finally nice to have peace in Ireland now my only wish is to see this all over the world. I think mothers should initiate the peace process as they are the ones that would not want their children to die in such violence.

    1. Hi Joseph, it’s wonderful that we have come to the point of such peace in Ireland now and I agree that mothers can have a huge role in initiating peace processes everywhere.

  2. I love this picture called “Stepping Stones to Peace”..as it really shows how two sides can be brought together as one..or meeting each other half way.. and the water signifies tranquility or it can be dangerous . I hope Ireland continues to be a peaceful country..Happy Easter.

  3. I’m also so glad that things have changed. When i was there, years ago, they told me to get into the nearest hotel or else i might get shot dead. Hearing that shocking thing, i went to the nearest, plush hotel (and it cost a fortune). Many times too, we were in train stations with bomb threats spontaneously occuring. We can live with compassion and intelligence instead of barbaric hatred and cruelty! 🙂

    1. Tom, there certainly were many tough years here and it has taken time for peace to reign since the signing of the Good Friday Agreement in 1998. The change from when I was growing up very close to the border with Northern Ireland is so, so wonderful and something we could only dream about and wish for back then. Many thought peace could never be achieved but we have made an amazing journey.

  4. I know many Irish who have never been to NI. I dared to go there in 2003, and everything went well. After that I have been to NI many times. The same people everywhere. When the family from Derry drowned in Buncrana, a Donegal man risked his life and saved their baby. It is how thing should be.

Leave a Reply

