Irish Eyes on St.Patrick

‘For each petal on the shamrock, this brings a wish your way – good health, good luck, and happiness, for today and every day.’ (Irish Blessing)

St. Patrick’s Day is upon us and it’s a day that makes me feel very Irish and connected to people with Irish blood all round the world.

For me, St. Patrick’s Day is just that ~ never, ever Paddy’s Day or Patty’s Day. Nor is it a day of mad drinking, green beers or leprechaun hats.

I think an honouring of St. Patrick’s Day goes back to my school days in Castleblayney , Co. Monaghan when I was six or seven and the whole school would congregate in our gymslips and Gaberdine coats out on the avenue and sing Hail Glorious Saint Patrick on the eve of March 17th.

The other song that always comes to mind on St. Patrick’s Day is one written by Chauncey Alcott (1858-1932) who was a stage actor, songwriter and singer, born in New York and of Irish descent:

St. Patrick’s Day is a day when I find myself thinking ‘as Gaelige’ (in the Irish language) and I’d like to wish everyone who is Irish, loves Ireland or feels a sense of IrishnessSt. Patrick

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

38 thoughts on “Irish Eyes on St.Patrick”

  1. Saint Patrick and his eight tiny reindeer swooping down with baskets of multi-colored eggs, thus causing rainbows. One of my favorite children’s stories.

      1. Oh very much so – especially amongst the young. The hooting and porch hopping has already started and it is 5 pm here. (I live 3 blocks from a large university with 42,000 full time students. Many buildings here have been converted to student housing. )

          1. Ha! That would be a local term. The buildings here are brick and over 100 years old. They have been renovated into kitchenettes for students- about 9 per 3 story building. They have huge big covered porches on the front that will hold about 20 standing students. As the weather gets better (about 10 C , 50 F today) the students tend to migrate to the porches for drinking and playing music. Some will bring along their supply and go from porch to porch visiting and listening to the music – hence porch hopping. Its meaning is intuitive and obvious when you see it happening.

  2. Happy St. Patricks Day, Jean! Although I grew up thinking my heritage was mainly Dutch, German, and French, according to Ancestry.com, I am probably a good portion Irish or Scottish. So I am going to assume I am IRISH with a gift of the gab and some Irish luck thrown in.

  3. And a happy St Patrick’s Day to you too — I can claim a little Irish heritage from my grandmother (but I’m with you on the ‘no green beer’). I’ve heard that they dye the river green in Chicago, can that be true?

    1. Sandy, I knew we had to have more in common than ‘hoarding!’ (I was listening to a psychologist talking about hoarding on Irosh radio the other day and I was thinking about me and thee!)
      Yes, it could be more than true about the river and the dye. Crazy stuff!

Leave a Reply

