Some Other Where

My late father was a stickler for correct grammar and for consulting the dictionary, if in any doubt. Given all this, it was a source of fascination to me that he never used the phrase ‘somewhere else.’ Instead, he would say ‘some other where.’

Some other where has deep meanings for me (and I think I can see now why Dad used it.)

The time that some other where comes into play for me most is around sunset when  it’s dark and I’m pushing out the boundaries in terms of not being home. You know that extra half an hour or three quarters of an hour when they’d be expecting you back and have just started to wonder if the car has conked out or if Puppy Stan has gone missing or … It’s not quite time to start trying to phone but they know that the phone is probably on Silent anyway!

Well, the some other where is invariably on a beach wave-gazing; or high up on the cliffs cloud-gazing. Some other where is a timeless place; a place of oneness with nature; a place  where the air is salty. It’s also a place where you lose yourself; you move so far into reality that you are experiencing rather than rationalising. Some other where is intensely peaceful; it loves shapes, shadows and silhouettes and it can see right through darkness to a where that’s neither here not there, just beyond or in-between.

This is how my some other where has been looking in the last little while:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Do you have a ‘some other where?’

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

30 thoughts on “Some Other Where”

  1. Gorgeous scenery Jean. geography wise, I felt that way when I visited the Grand Canyon and when I lived close to the ocean. I googled “images ‘some other where’ ” and got some interesting results. here’s one:

    1. Hariod, thanks so much for this pointer. I wonder, wonder, wonder if this is where Dad got it from. He certainly had read Shakespeare but how much of an influence it had on him I simply don’t know.
      I have wondered if the turn of phrase came from the fact that he was educated through the Irish language but that doesn’t necessarily lead me to the phrase in question to anything like the same extent as you have.

        1. Yes, I think it probably was the Shakespearean influence the more I reflect on it. He had a few other sayings that he used regularly that came from Shakespeare but they weren’t as part of everyday language as this one and so clearly ‘old-fashioned’ or not the norm!
          It certainly has far greater reach than ‘somewhere else.’

      1. Perhaps, but if we are to stick to defining things correctly, as your father did, occupying a space has nothing to do with it (at least as far as i am concerned); but i am very appreciative of what your post is saying and think it is awesome.
        Your father’s usage of those words, “some other where,” suggests he had some keen insights/perceptions; you are very lucky! 🙂

  2. Sounds like a great title for an adventure or fantasy novel. It was the beginning of spring, and I was being drawn ever more often to some other where. Mine is New Mexico, Land of Enchantment. It is the some other where I started over, the some other where I immersed myself in the desert wonders and the mountain splendors. It speaks to me of wanderlust and road trips.

  3. Love this phrase and have to learn to incorporate it in my life at just the right moments. My some other where is the state of Maine. For me it’s from another place and time that no longer exists. Some other where.

  4. Long a fan of semantics and word choice, I would acknowledge that I do not, specifically, have a ‘some other where’ Jean. In lieu, I simply relish when I am ‘there’ regardless of where it lies on a map or having a name ascribed to it. For me, it’s appreciating being in the moment in any number of places. An enjoyable and thought prompting post!

    1. Hi Eric, even though I’ve brought place into it via the photographs, it’s that sense of ‘just being’ ~ and not even having a sense of it, that is what I was trying to get at.
      On the matter of words, isn’t it interesting that ‘there’ and ‘where’ have ‘here’ in common?

        1. I’m not sure where the reflection would bring us as we’re only dealing with the English language but still it’s something I’d never noticed until we got into this conversation.

Leave a Reply

