Which Book/s Would YOU Love to have Written?

International Book Day has had me thinking about my lifetime with books. I was very fortunate to have been born into a family of avid readers and being the youngest of us three kids, there were always loads of books for me to read.

I was also fortunate to have had a book published in 1996 based on my PhD thesis which was about the life histories of people with physical disabilities in Ireland. I guess one of my proudest moments was at the launch of the book and having all the people who mattered to me most, both personally and professionally, either physically present or there in spirit. Having my parents there was brilliant and I remember thinking how well they both looked. As a parent now, I have a greater sense of how they probably felt.

Even though I can derive satisfaction from knowing that my book made at least some impact on the world, I tend to think about other people’s  books in terms of whether I would love to have written them or not.

The following are among the books I would adore to have written:

The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (1925)

Gatsby

To the Lighthouse by Virginia Woolf (1927)

To the Lighthouse

Death of a Naturalist by Seamus Heaney (1966)

DeathOfANaturalist

The Shell Seekers by Rosamunde Pilcher (1987)

The-Shell-Seekers-by-Rosamunde-Pilcher

The Camomile Lawn by Mary Wesley (1984)

Camomile Lawn

The Butterfly Lion by Michael Morpurgo (1996)

TheButterflyLion

What would YOUR choices be? I’d love to know. 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

53 thoughts on “Which Book/s Would YOU Love to have Written?”

  1. Plato’s Republic – although I would have argued some points with Socrates. There are places I am convinced he was wrong -.

    I thought your arguments and discussions were particularly crisp Dr. Tubridy. Congrats on the published book. It is always a bonus to have one under your belt if you choose to do another. Doing a PhD thesis based on qualitative arguments is challenging – or at least here it is. It is inevitably attacked as anecdotal. And in academia that is a death knell. Even when the topic best bends itself to case studies, still the advisors here want as much quantitative evidence as is possible – below a certain level is considered unacceptable.

    It surely must be a wonderful feeling to have published.

    1. Hi Paul,
      Plato is a fav of mine too.
      Back when I was doing the PhD, qualitative methods were frowned upon here but things have changed a good deal in relation to them.
      Problem now is that surveys are cheaper and with the recession, cost tends to be King!

  2. You’ve given me some leads on books I haven’t read–well, I’ve read the first couple, but not the rest. I am a Mrs. Dalloway fan, personally ;). I would love to have written To Kill a Mockingbird or The Dollmaker or Sister Carrie or The House of Mirth, but they wouldn’t have been my stories to tell anyway. There are so many more . . . .

  3. I really enjoy a book called Give me the World by Leila Hadley which is a Inspirational story of a young woman traveling on her own with her small son in a time where this was not the norm. I think it would have been interesting to experience that and then consequently write the story…

      1. Your welcome. I really enjoyed it. She was a women for another time for sure. She had different adventures in different countries some of which she brought her small son. I really enjoyed it.

  4. Gatsby? Oh, yeah! Pretty much anything by C.S. Lewis, G.K. Chesteron, Wm. Shakespeare. Pensees. Tom Sawyer and Huckleberry Finn. The Once and Future King. Watership Down… must stop… oh, wait, one more: the New Testament.

  5. I think maybe one I would most like to have written is A Winter’s Tale, by Mark Helprin. It is just such a visual feast, to read. Something for everyone, struggle, love, fantasy. But it’s the pictures he is able to draw with his words that blew me away. Nice post. xo

      1. It’s a wonderful long book, lol. They made a movie, but the movie, even though it was Russel Crowe and Colin Firth, was terrible. They had to cut so much out of the story that it wasn’t even the same. But the book, it was one I hated to end. I also loved Ahab’s Wife like that and would loved to have written that, it’s probably my favorite book. by Sena Jeter Naslund.

          1. Yes. Some movies translated well to film, like I like the movie The Help, thought it stayed fairly true to the book, and there are others, like The Secret Life of Bees. But some of them are so far off. I always read the book before I see the movie.

  6. A hard choice but “To Kill A Mockingbird” …”Gone With The Wind”..”Angelas’ Ashes” to mention a few..I love reading fiction by Irish authors also Maeve Binchy and others…

  7. Wow, that’s a difficult question. My first thought was ‘the book I’d like to have written is… my next book!’, but that sounds odd. I like the eclectic nature of your choices, so off the top of my head I say: Gone with the Wind by Margaret Mitchell; The Severed Wasp by Madelyn L’Engle (as well as her journals like The Summer of the Great Grandmother); any book by Ann Patchett.

  8. I’m obviously going to go totally out on a limb here. Recently, on a website I was adding my details to, I wanted to give an answer to this question and not being a fan of historical fiction the books I came up with were: And the Land Lay Still by James Robertson, The Garden of Evening Mists by Tan Twan Eng, and The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver. I’m sure I could think of many more, but these were books read recently that made an impression on me.

  9. Right now JoJo Moyes has 3 books on the bestseller list. I’d like to have written one of those 😀
    I also admire the works of Gabriel Garcia Marquez. I would like to be able to craft stories like he did.

    1. Tara, I was chuffed to see mine on shelves and in libraries but it wasn’t anything like as mind-blowing as I had thought it would be. I can’t quite explain why. Perhaps, it was because the process took so long and it seemed like time to move on.

  10. Hi Jean, here’s my list: All of Isabel Allendes’ books, Four letters of love by Niall Williams, Oscar and Lucinda by Peter Carey … and just about all of the others mentioned in comments above! P

    1. Hi Patsy, I’m totally with you re Niall Williams and Oscar and Lucinda but believe it or not I haven’t read any of Isabel Allendes’ books. Sound like I have a treat in store! Thanks so much.

    1. Inese, you’ll have to read The Butterfly Lion. It’s very short but so profound!
      I absolutely adored Little Women too. Must have read it twenty or thirty times!

Leave a Reply

