Dogging About

Pausing
Watching and Waiting

I’ve been trying to get my paws on this computer for days and I’m grabbing my chance now by the scruff of the neck.

I wanted to have a nose around to see what everyone is looking at when they’re glued to computers and phones. Talking about ‘glued,’ I’ve been seeing all sorts of strange ways that people are exercising their dogs around here. How about jog-the-dog? That’s the guy who’s all dressed up in his running gear and jogging around the streets with a dog on a lead. I’ve no clue what happens if the dog needs to do a bit of business. There’s also a few fellas who cycle with their dog on the lead beside  in front of them.

I’d HATE that kind of carry on cos I like to be able to do my own thing and not be latched onto someone.

Anyway, I thought you’d like to see some of the most famous breeds of dog in Ireland. Take a look here. They’re all very clean looking compared to me but anyway …..

Now, here’s a few dog quotes that took my fancy and I hope Jean will like them when she finds I’ve been messin’ around here again.

I think she’ll love this first one anyway as she’s always giving out about some American guy that’s blowing his own trumpet. Maybe, you know who that is?

I love a dog. He does nothing for political reasons. ( Will Rogers)

And I know she’ll be thrilled with this ‘cos she was talking to herself about Plato the other day. See I do listen to her every word!

A dog has the soul of a philosopher. (Plato)

This is one that I think I should put in to prove a point that’s a bit contentious (wow ~ thanks Mr Spellchecker)  around here these last few months :

A wet dog is lovingest. ( James Thurber)

And this is one that will melt her heart, I know it will:

To sit with a dog on a hillside on a glorious afternoon is to be back in Eden, when doing nothing was not boring – it was peace. ( Milan Kundera.

Jeepers, humans say nice things about dogs, don’t they?  I certainly think Emily has a point but I don’t know that I’d like to live in a dog-only world. I’m terrified of some dogs, especially big ones that seem all playful and then get narky and barky and growly and vicious and try and lift me up by the neck. I need Jean to sort those lads out for me!

Dogs are better than human beings, because they know but do not tell. (Emily Dickinson)

Have to dash. She’s calling me and seems to think I’m downstairs under the kitchen table. Hope I’m not in trouble: she’s gone from: Stan to Stanny to  S T A N I E L …..

Have a great week if I don’t get back.

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

43 thoughts on “Dogging About”

  1. Dear Stan – I’m so happy to find another dog on here! Even though my moms gets annoyed when I take over the computer, I manage to do it anyway when she’s not looking. So far, I’ve only ever found cats (Mehitabel and Shadowpaws) and teddy bears (Teddy Rosalie, the Peacekeeping Bears and Vlad – oh, wait, Vlad is a Vampire and gets upset if you use the word “teddy bear”!). Anyway, I’m glad to have found another blogging friend! See you around the internet!
    Best wishes – Puppy Cody

    1. Hi Cody, it’s lovely to hear from you. Where do you live? Cody is a kind of Irish name but with this internet thingy you could be sitting up on the moon. Imagine what that would be like. Stanny

  2. Hi Stanny Cody lives across the Atlantic and is a great guy to have as a friend, just don’t mix with the cats he mentioned!
    Vlad the Vampire Bear lives with me, so don’t be afraid as he is fine with all my friends.
    As for Jean she will never be annoyed at you for long. You have the upper paw because she loves you!! Now remember clean that keyboard! xxxx

    1. Hi Willow, thanks for telling me about Cody. He sounds cool ~ that’s a word I picked up from across the Atlantic.
      I think I’ll stay away from the bear for the moment, if that’s okay and don’t worry I won’t have anything to do with cats. They freak me out. I was told they’re afraid of dogs but the ones around here don’t seem to have heard about that and love hissing at me.
      Want a lick while I’m cleaning the keyboard?

  3. Hello Stan
    I am going to be in the doghouse when she finds me in the study…again…I am actually in hiding as SHE said the dreaded “bath’ word….a swear word around here. Anyway, my two are frantically getting ready for their holiday in Tasmania and I am off to my best freind Margaret’s holiday resort for best behaving puppies…I can’t get it though Stan, why do people have to get so stressed and keep writing lists and crossing off stuff on them and then writing more…seems to me that getting ready to go on holiday is too stressful…can’t understand the fuss myself. My lot and their habits…he is a daily weather-checker and I heard him say this morning that tomorrow is going to be awfully hot for their long drive to Melbourne, so he spends half his day on the Bureau of Meterology site, and ‘herself’. Well she’s into study a lot – all things Irish female migration, but I heard her talking about how much stuff is on twitter about the 1916 Rising….so she spends all her time, when she’s not doing chores or taking me for a walk…writing and reading…UhhOhh…she’s calling…”Dougal…D..o..u..g..a..l…so deceptive and kind she sounds but I know what’s coming. See you later…have a great one:):):)

    1. Hello Dougal, will you be awful lonely when they go or do you get spoiled by Margaret? I hate when any of mine go away even for the afternoon, not to mention Tasmania. That sounds like it could be anywhere. I’ll have to look it up on ‘doogle.’
      How do you stick stuff about the 1916 Rising? That was years ago. Now is what I think we should be thinking about. And, as for bothering about the weather, well that would drive me crackers. What does he think the Bureau can do about it anyway? I just don’t get people a lot of the time. Maybe they have their reasons stuff and just don’t tell us or maybe they think they need to be looking at those stupid phones.
      Jean says I should go on Twitter cos I’m always chasing birds. Do you get the joke?
      Be sure to write to me if your lonely while they’re away. I’ll be here for you, buddy!

    1. Paul, it’s brill to hear from you. You scared the livin’ daylights outta Jean when you disappeared but I knew you’d come back okay. We dogs can sense these things. Hope you’re minding yourself.

    1. CC, you should see the Red Setters. I have my eye on a pretty young one who goes to the same beach as me. She’s a bit stand-offish but I’m living in hope. Have you any ideas how I could win her round? S

  4. You’re enjoying a..”Dog Day afternoon”….I love all the pictures of the Irish dogs, but my favorite is the picture of you…

    1. Val, you must be joking! From what I can gather Plato had something to say about romance – not a believer in it . Things are tough enough trying to find a girlfriend without being called Plato. They’d call me Play for short and Platonic for long.

    1. Hello Andrea, it’s getting the computer that’s the biggest bit. ‘Doogle’ seems to know everything. Pity it can’t clean up muddy paw prints, though. I always forget to stay out of muddy places. Impossible to resist them, if I’m honest. S

  5. Hahaha! Love it. Great job, Stanny! I am gonna steal this saying “To sit with a dog on a hillside on a glorious afternoon is to be back in Eden, when doing nothing was not boring – it was peace. ( Milan Kundera.) I need something to chew. Brilliant, Jean!

  6. These are all so true, and I do miss my dearly departed dogs. The only one I’m not quite sure about is the Will Rogers quote. I think dogs might be a little more political than cats. After all, dogs want people to like them and try to manipulate that reaction hahaha.

    1. Luanne, thanks for writing. I’m sorry to hear that you have dogs that you miss. I know how much Jean misses her precious Sophie. ( I was so lucky that she got me in an effort to heal her broken heart.)
      I don’t necessarily want everyone to like me, only people who are kind-hearted. There’s a lot of cruel humans out there that we dogs have to be on our guard against.
      I haven’t figured cats out yet. Maybe that comes when you’re three and over? Stanny

Leave a Reply

