The Gentle Moon

The Moon over Co. Waterford
The Moon over Co. Waterford

“The moon does not fight. It attacks no one. It does not worry. It does not try to crush others. It keeps to its course, but by its very nature, it gently influences. What other body could pull an entire ocean from shore to shore? The moon is faithful to its nature and its power is never diminished.”

(Ming-Dao Deng)

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

49 thoughts on “The Gentle Moon”

  1. It is interesting that the body is made up I think 90% water (I’m not absolutely sure on the percentage but it is high) I find it fascinating that their is more crimes during a full moon, more people end up in hospital and more in the psychiatric ward. I found it interesting as well since we are 90% water then it stands to reason that the pull of water like the tides is present within our bodies. Just a thought

      1. I have no idea but my friend who is a Doctor says they come flooding in at night. The crimes I have no idea. I would imagine most of them would wait til night although shoplifting is done day and night as traffic accidents both. So I’m thinking day and night as the effects of the moon are still felt during the day as well. Another food for thought we know that the tides come in everyday twice a day. It begs to be answered that maybe a full moon is at its zenith at night therefore affecting more people at night. Just a thought.

    1. CC, yes, the fact that we all see the moon is amazing. Sad, though, that people who are blind may never see either and I think one can sense the sea a lot more easily than the moon.

      1. I wonder if people who are blind sense the full moon? That would be an interesting question to ask those who cannot see. Hmmm. I believe the term, Man in the Moon, came from the way the moon’s craters sometimes look like a face on the moon. I wonder where the idea that the moon is made from green cheese came from. I’ll have to google that.

  2. I’m not surprised that the Moon affects people as I have witnessed how people drive when there’s a full Moon present. I have also heard that people with emotional problems tend to act up around this time. So many songs are written about the moon..Shine on Harvest Moon, Moon Over Miami, Moon Glow just to name a few. The Moon is beautiful to look at. I wonder where the term “man in the Moon” came from..I have taken pictures of the Moon, which have come out with nice clarity…

      1. I was just reading that article today before I read this. It should take about 4 billion years before it would be a real problem. If we’re still around, we have plenty of time to work out a fix for that.

  3. What a wealth of great comments today, and I loved the videos — the moon always watched over us, even where I grew up, far from oceans (we planted the garden in the moonsigns from the Old Farmer’s Almanac). And I’ll certainly agree on that observation about traffic when the moon is full.

Leave a Reply

