Legacies

I guess everyone leaves a legacy of some description, at least, I’d like to think that they have the opportunity and that they have people who remember them long after they have passed on.

2016-01-28 18.43.23
The Flow of Words

One man who left a wonderful legacy to the world was Irish Nobel Laureate, William Butler Yeats, who died on January 28th, 1939.

His poetry lives with me every single day as it is etched in my heart and mind.

So many poems to choose from but this one never fails to calm me:

THE LAKE ISLE OF INNISFREE

I WILL arise and go now, and go to Innisfree,
And a small cabin build there, of clay and wattles made:
Nine bean-rows will I have there, a hive for the honeybee,
And live alone in the bee-loud glade.
And I shall have some peace there, for peace comes dropping slow,
Dropping from the veils of the morning to where the cricket sings;
There midnight’s all a glimmer, and noon a purple glow,
And evening full of the linnet’s wings.
I will arise and go now, for always night and day
I hear lake water lapping with low sounds by the shore;
While I stand on the roadway, or on the pavements grey,
I hear it in the deep heart’s core.

(William Butler Yeats 1865-1939)

What would you like YOUR legacy to be? 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

24 thoughts on “Legacies”

  1. As you know Jean I also love William Butler Yeats ………….. what would I like my legacy to be. I hope this is not too strange but my three boys and now my grandchild and I have always felt that this song says that for me,

  2. I love the poem. What will my legacies be I wonder? Just had a thought though….I could create my own time capsule. This way I could show what was important to me but then again, perhaps not…mmm…interesting thoughts for today:):)

  3. I hope that people think I was a good writer. I hope they enjoyed my stories. I hope they inspire people to create things of their own. I hope my passion and support for the arts affect change in the way children are educated, realising the potential of the arts and creativity to stimulate learning whatever the subject.

  4. Jean, you have just puzzled me. I guess some will remember me as just being a friend, a daughter, a sister or as an ex- of everything with good and bads. A dearest person has said that the most important thing for a lecacy is our belief. I believe so. Love the poem and your topic, meaning i prefer to get confused. 😉

  5. That is one beautiful poem Jean. As for legacy, I wonder more about this as I get older – I don’t have children, so no family to leave a legacy too, it’s something I think about now and again.

Leave a Reply

