The Place Between

If I had to choose one place for its wondrous sound, it would be just inside the little gap in the stone wall that leads down to Annestown Beach.

The Listener
The Listener

Here one is treated to a mingling of the cawing of the resident crows and the crashing of the Atlantic waves.

And all the while, the waves roll in and the tides ebb and flow:

Sea of Love
Sea of Love

Where is your special place when you just want to listen?

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

19 thoughts on “The Place Between”

  1. You’re crows sound just like Canadian crows…..ummm! I guess there is no language barrior between them. I wonder if there would be a language barrior with crows of a different tongue. Ok that is enough of me amusing mind..LOL

  2. Early in the a.m. when it’s still dark or after the snow storm has left …the stillness always reminds me of the hymn Silent Night

  3. I’d like to go back 120 years before motor vehicles, late in the evening, only the sounds of nature; then the lone sound of a steam train puffing by and disappearing again into the night, leaving silence.

    Or the 1960s in a major railway station listening to the great steam engines clatter, hiss, clang, puff – coming from and going to strange destinations.

  4. I love listening to the sounds of huge international airports. I just close my eyes and listen. Different languages, conversations, emotions. There is no other place where the humans sound like one, and where their destinies seem more like each other than they are different.

  5. Some nights i wake up at odd hours.. one o’clock, two, or even around midnight and i hear a bird singing, sometimes more than one.. I lay there and absorb the sounds filling my whole being with joy. Those are precious moments.

Leave a Reply

