Mother, Son and Bridges

The Barrow Bridge
The Barrow Railway Bridge     Photo: Harry Fox

Mystery tours with son, Harry, are always fun and well-thought out.

Yesterday, he brought me up a little woodland path out near Cheekpoint, here in Co. Waterford, and there below us was The Barrow Bridge which he knew I’d been wanting to see for a good while.

The Barrow Railway Bridge was built between 1906 and 1910 and is the longest railway bridge in Ireland at 2,131 feet long.  It carried the railway from Waterford to Wexford and on to Rosslare Harbour and closed to passenger traffic in 2010.

It was designed by Benjamin Baker (1840-1907), an eminent English Civil Engineer, who is best known for his design of the Forth Railway Bridge in Scotland, which was one of the first cantilever bridges and which was the longest bridge in the world for several years.

Benjamin Baker     Source: Wikipedia
Benjamin Baker
Source: Wikipedia

As we stood together, mother and son, admiring The Barrow Bridge, this quote from Richie Norton kept crossing my mind:

“Action is the bridge between thought and reality.”

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

27 thoughts on “Mother, Son and Bridges”

    1. WOW, I’m sure the photos are stunning.
      The history is pretty amazing, I think, especially the fact that it was designed by such an eminent engineer ~ he was involved in the design of the London Underground as well.

  1. Yes and your son took the action to bring you to your hope of seeing the bridge. Quite a span this bridge has …I’m always hesitant before going over a bridge..I’m always glad to reach the other side.

    1. Absolutely. The quote reminds me a little of ‘A little help is worth a lot of pity.’
      I like going over bridges on trains, I must say, but some other kinds of heights (especially rollercoasters and small planes) freak me out.

  2. I love the Richie Norton quote…I was writing about crossing the bridge between not knowing and knowing a couple of months ago…I love bridges:):)

  3. Thanks Jean. Lovely image and thought provoking quote. Always something romantic about bridges and something inspiring about being between two worlds while you cross – space for reflection and decision. Regards Thom.

  4. Yesterday my calendar quote for the 1,000 places to see before you die calendar (and frankly, I am not sure why some of them are on the list!) was “The wisdom of bridges comes from the fact that they know the both sides, they know the both shores!” Mehmet Murat Ildan

    1. Hi Roy, interesting you should say that about Ireland and railway remains today because it’s just been announced that the old railway station house in Tramore is to be turned into a museum. Much of the Tramore-Waterford line was ripped up and, as it said in The Irish Times today, this ‘rankles’ a lot with local people.
      The Barrow Bridge is lovely to have and it’s good that it still operates at a minor level to let boats through.

Leave a Reply

