Just a Quickie re Spam

Practically all the blogs I follow by email (including my own) are landing in my email spam box. This just started a few days ago when I found lots of you languishing there.

Is anyone else having this issue or do you know what could be causing it?

Spam always makes me think of tins of meat for total emergencies. How times have changed!

WWII era SPAM can. Photo courtesy of Hormel Foods Corporation
WWII era SPAM can. Photo courtesy of Hormel Foods Corporation

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

33 thoughts on “Just a Quickie re Spam”

  1. Make sure you add the email addresses to your contact list for those you want in your inbox. Spam filters get updated and sometimes become annoyingly selective. But, if you put their addresses in your contact list, it will identify them as wanted mail. If emails have attachments, they sometimes get directed to the spam folder because spam often uses attachments to scam your login info. And if something is forwarded, especially with an attachment, it often ends up in the spam folder. Again make sure all the addresses for your wanted emails are in your contact list. It offers that as an option when you receive mail or when you reply to it. Take the time to do this.

    Sandy Penny, WritingMuse.comFounder, SweetMysteryBooks.com

    Date: Mon, 18 Jan 2016 22:23:53 +0000 To: sandypenny@live.com

  2. I get this every so often. I don’t know whether it is the spam filter that objects to the influx or whether I have caught one and sent it to spam by accident… you’ve seen how dodgy my fingers can be 🙂 Just unspam them and it normally sorts itself out. On the other hand, I have a feeling WP are up to something again… there have been a few anomalies the past few days.

  3. It isn’t a WordPress thing. I checked it with them last time it happened. It’s your computer/email. I indentified ” not junk” and it didn’t happen again. Apparently when there’s an upgrade it likes to do a bit of a clean out if there are too many emails lurking on the server.
    xo

  4. We still buy and like Spam at our house..though we don’t have it regularly..a tad too salty, so I buy the less sodium. We make a “Spam (Ham) salad, grind it up and add sweet relish with mayonnaise, or pan fry it (like bacon) to have with eggs…I actually have a Spam cookbook that Kenny Rogers and his wife wrote years ago…

    1. Hi Darcy, I see where you’re coming from but I like to have my favourites by email. Somehow, the Reader feels too much like a timeline and I’m trying to get away from them!

Leave a Reply

