I gazed – and gazed …

I was driving in search of brightly painted houses the other morning when I saw the most welcome sight of the year so far … a bank of daffodils in bloom.

It was one of those perfect moments when Spring wrapped her loving arms around me.

As I stepped out of the car, a choir of birds were singing merrily overhead on the branches of a sunlit tree:

The Singing Tree
The Singing Tree

The scene was all sunlight and shadows; and as brightly painted as anyone could have wished for:

D4
Primary Colours

So many thoughts as I knelt down to just be with the daffodils: that photo of Mother holding the bunch of daffodils;

Mother with Daffodils Photo: Frank Tubridy
Mother with Daffodils
Photo: Frank Tubridy

Dad standing at the kitchen window watching his daffodils blowing in the wind; me reading The Daffodils to Dad when he was in bed in those last few months of his life and him chiming in when I thought he was asleep …..

Tossing their Heads ...
Tossing their Heads …

And then my heart with pleasure fills,
And dances with the daffodils.

(William Wordsworth)

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

22 thoughts on “I gazed – and gazed …”

  1. The peace and colours of nature:):) I know it has other sides too but the daffys and the jonquils always get me…are they early for this time of the year?

    1. Thanks Val. Glad you liked it. The memory of Mother is very much tied up with Dad as he took the photo and always used to bring the windfall daffodils in to her. Neither of them ever wanted to pick them when they were growing fine.

  2. Here you are showing me Daffodils and I’m here shoveling snow…you made my heart full of anticipation of what is yet to come..We’re not even in the middle of Winter and I’m dreaming of Spring. Nice pictures especially that of your Mom…I can see a resemblance of you in her picture…Thank you for sharing…

    1. Hi Joni, we may find ourselves shoveling snow yet but my heart goes out to you.
      Interesting about the resemblance as Mother has burnished gold hair and I’m very dark, like Dad. But, I can sometimes see a bit of a likeness.

    1. I didn’t mean to make anyone cry but I can understand why you might. I certainly didn’t as they are such happy memories that I have of the two of them, especially where daffodils are concerned.

  3. Here they grow daffs commercially and already the season’s ruined. There are fields of them, weeks too early. I read they’re giving them away free this weekend in some promotion or other. The world’s gone mad.

Leave a Reply

