Textured Space in Co. Waterford

There are times when you need to take little detours in life  to find textured space and this morning’s, for us,  was down to Ballydowane Bay, which is between Bonmahon and Stradbally,  here in Co. Waterford.

Lacy Edeges
Lacy Edges

The steep cliffs were a mosaic, set against the deep blue January sky:

Frilly Cliffs
Frilly Cliffs

The only marks ahead of me on the pebbly beach were  Pup Friday’s:

Tex2
Softly, Softly …..

With each step, our gaze was captivated by the layers and layers of different textures and the mingling of soft green grass on the rose-tinted sandstone.

Tex7
Tempered Peace

All the glorious space that we needed to replenish our souls:

Gentle Shadow
Gentle Shadow

Where are your favourite textured spaces? 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

39 thoughts on “Textured Space in Co. Waterford”

  1. What a gorgeous place to go to reconnect, replenish, resource!
    I am often drawn to a little river (creek, really) where I can sit and just be. Plus it gives Zeke a chance to run around off leash!

  2. I love all the pics Jean, especially the one of your dog and also the shorline that you described as “lacey”..You are so lucky to have such a seashore with the cliffs surrounding the water.

      1. It’s lovely to be able to go places. I realised that when I started sharing pictures of my travels on my facebook. I went a bit overboard in the quantity but my friends always appreciated it and many said that it made them feel like they had actually visited the place without having to pay for it 🙂

  3. I think shorelines (sand, shells, shores made from volcanic rock like on St. Paul Island) tend to have the best textures. I have sand and seashells and rocks and sea glass from every beach I have ever visited, so that is likely my favorite. But I am a texture-loving fiend, and thus, have a variety of textures I enjoy: the bark on different species of trees, the fur on dogs and cats, the difference between winter coat on a horse and summer coat on a horse, parasites on tree limbs, designs on antique buttons, grass….you get the picture. 🙂

  4. Love the idea of mentally textured images rather than 2D, Jean. Ordinarily, your stunning photos of Waterford make me look around Dublin inner city in a kind of grey funk, but today your texture prompts instead bring me to my own couch, cushioned in fur and tweed, the velvety wallpaper behind me with the carpet beneath my feet, warm orange wood framing the shiny glass of the windows. At least I know I’ll be reunited with those textures soon enough 😀

Leave a Reply

