The Language of Stones

Stone Talk
Stone Talk

Just as the tide ebbs and flows, so too does the collection of stones on the seashore change. Oftentimes, the voice of the stones is drowned out by the sound of the sea but high up on the shoreline they call out to those who seek inspiration.

Two stones spoke to me yesterday as I walked along Annestown Beach. They only needed to say two words to draw me in and tickle my imagination.

Yes, this is what they said to me:

LOVE WRITING

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

16 thoughts on “The Language of Stones”

  1. I too collect favorite rocks on our visits to the shore..Some remind me of a fancy chocolates..with striping going around the rock..some are dark and some look like carmel (couldn’t be that I have a sweet tooth..ha). some are intriguing with their colors..some look like a tweed effect, while others are fine enough for a paperweight because of their unusal look. I also collect bits of drift wood, shells, and beach glass..if it beckons to me I pick it up..always looking for the treasure…

  2. I have a flat stone next to my desk. It’s a sand one with chalk patterns on it that look like confetti. It fits exactly in my palm, as if it was carved by the waves especially for me. It’s good to hold during moments of reflection or during short periods of writer’s block.

Leave a Reply

