Dogonality

It’s Puppy Stan here! I just had to tell you about a new friend I met today out at Kilfarrassy Beach. I like going there because there’s always other dogs coming and going.

Kilfarrasy Beach ~ all shimmery.
Kilfarrasy Beach ~ all shimmery.

I didn’t spot a big black dog for a few minutes because the sun was dazzling me. He was down at the end of the beach and I raced towards him to see if he wanted to play.

He was full of his fun and even though he was lots bigger than me, it turns out that he’s only nine months old.

Tete - a -Tete
Tete – a -Tete

He told me that he’s a ‘working dog’ and that he’s being trained by a very kind man and woman who love him to bits. He’s been with them since he was eight weeks old but is due to leave shortly ‘cos he’s learned to do all the important things that he’ll have to do if he’s going to be a companion/helper for someone who needs a bit of a hand.

He said he’s upset at the thought of leaving the man and woman because they’ve been so kind to him AND he’s gone everywhere with them since he went to live with them. He even gets to go into shops and restuarants ~ just imagine! I don’t think I’d be able to resist grabbing cakes and goodies if I was let into a shop. If I have to wait outside certain shops, like the butchers or bakers, ย the scents send my tum-tum into a tizz-wizz.

He said that the man says that he’s got a great ‘doganality’ for the kind of work he’ll be doing. He’ll have to be obedient, gentle, diligent, focussed and think all the time about other people. It sounds awful hard, I think, especially the obedient and focussed bits.

I love the word ‘dogonality’ ‘cos every single dog is different. This guy had the best doggy smile I’ve ever seen. What do you think?

Smiley, Smiley
Smiley, Smiley

I hope I meet him again before he leaves. I wish I could drive the car and get to the beaches myself . What’s an automatic car?

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

30 thoughts on “Dogonality”

      1. Did you see I made a typo I meant to say an automatic car not an aytomatic car…. mind you I like the sound of an aytomatic car…..woof woof!! ( my attempt at speaking dog!) xxx

  1. What a perfect story, from doggie point and human point. Stan’s new friend looks so much like our Kate and our Abby! I spent a lovely evening in the living room with Abby, marveling at how beautiful she is, and how fortunate I am to have given her the forever home she deserved. I love and admire and appreciate those who can train service dogs and let them go to serve, as I do those who can foster and then let them go to forever homes. You rock, Stan!

  2. What a wonderful thing to do is to train a dog! Service dogs are amazing.
    When I plan to come to Tramore, I will let you know and we can go to Kilfarassy. I have an automatic car ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh thanks! That sounds just great. I don’t think we should tell Jean ‘cos I was in Kilfarassy this morning and ran up to the very top of the cliff after a seagull. J was very cross and I’m trying to win her round again. Must say I was glad to get back to the car. Those cliffs are very crumbly after the storm but the seagull wanted to play and so did I.
    Stan ( lick, lick).

    1. Hi there! Oh so do I. The supervisor person was coming to check him out last Friday. If I were him, I’d act a bit heedless to buy extra time but I think he’s honester than me. WOOF!

Leave a Reply

