Return to the House on the Hill

I simply had to go back to the derelict Mine Manager’s House in Bonmahon ~ what I think of as The House on the Hill ~ as there were so many unanswered questions after my last posting. The interaction associated with blogging is certainly one way to keep one’s mind moving!

It’s the back of the house that one sees from the road:

Mine Manager's House, Bonmahon, Co. Waterford ~ the view from the road.
Mine Manager’s House, Bonmahon, Co. Waterford ~ the view from the road.

I was determined to get to the front and see how it looked from there. I still can’t figure out where the main gate to the house is/was but I crawled through a load of thorny overgrowth and came to the front which rather took my breath away:

The Front Door
The Front Door

There is a lot of ground in front of the house and it felt like no one had been there since the front door was finally boarded up years ago.

The Front 'Garden'
The Front ‘Garden’

As for the ‘fire place’ round the back, there is definitely a space that could have housed a chimney – albeit a rather narrow one.

The Fire Place in the Back Yard
The Fire Place in the Back Yard

As the little plaque notes, the Mine Manager’s house had a good view of the works going on in the area below it:

HoH5

This is a view of how the area looks these days:

Where Miners once Worked
Where Mining Families once Worked

Many thanks for asking all the questions that you did about the original post and generating my curiosity to go back and take another look at a house with a history.

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

10 thoughts on “Return to the House on the Hill”

    1. I certainly found it very, very eerie the first day I went up around it and got a sense of hidden hurt. On this second visit, it was the empty space around it that held an uneasy silence but, at least, the sky was blue for most of the time!

  1. I can feel the start of a new project coming on…the novel begins:) I am inspired that what many people see as just bricks and mortar is seen by many others as something that can really enter into our emotional and imaginative space and…the next part of the sentence is yours… thank you for a wonderfully inspiring beginning to my morning…today I am working on the Lit Review…it’s a bit of a slog…but really worthwhile.

Leave a Reply

