In-Betweenness

There was space in my life today so I seized the chance to take what may be my last walk around the beach in Tramore for 2015.  It was overcast, misty, windy and wet but I loved every single step of it.

Silvery Shimmers on Tramore Bay, Co. Waterford.
Silvery Shimmers on Tramore Bay, Co. Waterford.

There was a real sense of  in-betweenness about the walk ~ these last days before a whole new year opens up in front of us.

I couldn’t but think of the old year leaving the stage when as I watched this gull taking flight:

Flying Away
Flying Away

And this man  trudging homeward in the soft sand down by the end of the beach was yet another symbol of the departing year:

Homeward Bound
Homeward Bound

It was round by the Backstrand that I got a sense of the new corners and undulations that lie ahead:

Corners of Life
Curves of Life

But all the while, there were gems of the sea shore to keep me firmly grounded in the present moment:

Nature's Treasures
Nature’s Treasures

More than anything, the old railway sleepers that are so much a part of the Back Strand in Tramore made me think of both continuity and change as they gleamed in the dull light:

Continuity and Change
Continuity and Change

What or where are YOUR symbols of the in-betweenness of the old  year and beginning of the new? 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

15 thoughts on “In-Betweenness”

  1. I have already written a post on that. Sadly lots of people, family, friends whatever become stressed and arguments can ensue. The days between Christmas and New Year when you don’t know who you are or what you’re doing.

  2. Very thought provoking Jean..I love all the shots that you took..especially of the elder man heading off into the future leaving the past behind him. I know where I’ve been but where am I going should be the caption. We all know what the past was and look to the future for hopefully brighter things in our lives, but the past has a way of coming into our lives at a given moment. Out with the old in with the new…Happy New Year. I just hope for a healthier year for all my family..

Leave a Reply

