Casting Wishing Stones on New Year’s Eve

New Year’s Eve is fast approaching and my thoughts are on the Wishing Stone Ritual which my son, Harry, and I started a good number of years ago now.

Newtown Cove, Tramore, Co. Waterford
Newtown Cove, Tramore, Co. Waterford

We head to Newtown Cove here in Tramore as midnight approaches. It’s like a grand amphitheatre and the stones that the tide washes up there are a magical mix.

Wishing Stones
Wishing Stones

The Wishing Stone Ritual is essentially about casting memories of the old year back into the sea where they will never be forgotten and picking one special stone which carries with it hopes and dreams for the year to come.

It is an occasion full of emotion as each year is made up of such a mixture of moments ~ from the heartbreaking to the heartmelting and beyond.

If you would like me to cast a Wishing Stone for you in memory of someone/thing from 2015 or as a wish for 2016, please let me know either here or, if you prefer, by email at jeantubridy@aol.com. We’d be delighted to have you with us in our thoughts as we pick stones that we feel would be appropriate to you.

Hidden Treasures
Hidden Treasures

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

32 thoughts on “Casting Wishing Stones on New Year’s Eve”

  1. This is beautiful Jean, I remember you did this for me last year. I would be so grateful if you could do the same for me this year. The same wish for relationships between the Newbie and his Mum to keep improving and for me to be able to walk on less eggshells and broken glass. I shall make wishes for you and yours too if you would like. xxxxx

  2. Jean..I think that this is a wonderful way of bringing in the New Year..and best of all it costs nothing but embraces all our hopes and dreams for the New Year..which I hope is the best for you and your family.

    1. Thanks Joni. It’s a simple idea but certainly carries huge meaning for us. I’m glad that it can be extended this way.
      Thanks for your good wishes and I’ll be casting a stone for you in honour of our long friendship!

  3. What a wonderful way to heal and open our hearts for the New Year. I would be honored if you cast a stone on behalf of my hubby Don, who is half way through his cancer treatment. May 2016 bring good health and joy!
    Thank you ❀️

  4. Oh Jean, what a most fabulous ritual! I love, love, love the whole idea of it! Of course, living in such a wonderful place where such interesting stones wash up helps. Gorgeous pictures.
    I would love you to cast a stone for my boys and me. xoxo

  5. Lovely post, Jean. I have one wish, but I will keep it to myself, but I would be very happy if you could cast a stone for me.
    Take care… x o x

  6. What a wonderful idea and I love that it is something that you can share with your son.My this New Year’sEve is for the world to slow down, step back, and re-think priorities…peace, peace and love:):)

  7. My friends and I often do a burning bowl ceremony where we release the old and claim the new in a fire bowl. Both rituals use the elements, your earth and water, mine wind and fire. Between us, we have involved all the elements. Happy New Year.

Leave a Reply

