The Four Places I Need to See Again in 2016

I have no major ambitions to travel the world in 2016 but there are four places in Ireland that I am yearning to see again.

The first is Drogheda in Co. Louth which was a huge part of my life growing up. I went to school there; played hard and learned the true meaning of what it is to love and be loved.

The Boyne Viaduct in Drogheda, Co. Louth.
The Boyne Viaduct in Drogheda, Co. Louth.

The second is Dublin and, especially my alma mater, Trinity College, where I spent many, many happy days. I was fortunate enough to live on the campus for my final year and that was a blissful experience.

Botany Bay, Trinity College, Dublin.
Botany Bay, Trinity College, Dublin.

The third is Mount Usher Gardens in Co. Wicklow. I began going to Mount Usher when I was in my teens and they have been part of my life ever since. They never, ever fail to soothe my soul:

Mount Usher Gardens, Co. Wicklow.
Mount Usher Gardens, Co. Wicklow.

And the fourth, is the Burren in West Clare, especially Bishop’s Quarter, near Ballyvaughan. West Clare was my father’s native heath and I’ve come to love it like a second home.

Bishops's Quarter, Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare,
Bishops’s Quarter, Ballyvaughan, Co. Clare.

I’d love to hear about the places that YOU feel you need to see in 2016 and why they hold special significance for you.

Needless, to say, I’m hoping that, at least some of you will yearn to see my beloved Tramore, here in Co. Waterford, that place which I never, ever, ever take for granted in all its moods and beauty.

Tramore Beach, Co. Waterford
Tramore Beach, Co. Waterford

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

42 thoughts on “The Four Places I Need to See Again in 2016”

  1. As always, I’ll be happy if I can go north… though we do have some travels planned around the country. We had planned a trip to Ireland… but sadly, that is on hold…for now.

  2. For me I am a hopeless homebody with the hand on the doorknob syndrome. If I see some places I see them and if I don’t well I don’t. When I was young I used to travel and now not so much. For 2016 I have no aspirations to travel as well. Homebody!

  3. You tempt us to travel to your places! I have no definite plans for travel in 2016 but as it is our 40th wedding anniversary we are thinking of something special and have considered Cuba since we can now travel there. But we will see.

  4. Apart from Allihies the only other place I’d love to re visit this year is Donegal. It was our childhood place of holiday as our grandparents were there so we usually went numerous times in the year.

  5. Well I am traveling in 2016. I am bringing my boys to Cuba for Spring Break (was not a destination I had on my wish-list but I figured it was now or never) and I am finally going to my dream destination of Tuscany in September. I’ve had a Tuscany calendar hanging in my kitchen for over five years and am finally going. That means, I must choose a new dream destination calendar for 2017… Ireland is definitely on the top of that list!! You still have a bed for me, Jean? 😉

  6. I like your list, everytime i pass near my school or college, many emotions invade me… My native city is not so great or so touristic thus people and events make a place to glow. I wish you, Jean to reach your goal and please, take some pictures.

  7. Like you, I am not planning any major trip in 2016. I have missed Ted Fest – hopefully I will book it for 2017. I want to explore some parts of Atlantic Way and make a few stops in memorable places, meeting people and shooting a photo essay. Then we will see 🙂

      1. I haven’t been in some parts of the West and would love to explore – like the North of Mayo and some parts of South Cork. Have been almost everywhere, but years ago, with my old camera 🙂 Have to update my pictures.

Leave a Reply

