Goodbye to All That

One Last Spring
One Last Spring

We got it for H’s eleventh birthday ~ almost ten years ago now. It took over the back garden and was his place to unwind, bouncing high, bouncing low, chatting animatedly to friends on the phone, lying in the sun reading the hurling results in the paper, waving in at me in the kitchen, greeting friends, neighbours and strangers who happened to be walking down the pavement by the side of the house.

Three or four years ago it got a bit wobbly from the pounding of a 6ft+ tall seventeen-year old. It found new users, though. The two dogs dozed on it in high summer, keeping a watchful eye on the comings and goings both inside and outside the house. They sheltered beneath it when the rains came ~ a tight cuddle of black and white.

Puppy Stan thought it was a mountain until the day he finally forgot his fears and leaped up onto in a chase after a tennis ball. He chewed and chewed causing the tiny rip to expand like a flooded river.

This week the trampoline was finally dismantled. I think we all thought it would last forever and none of us have even one photograph of it in all its glory or even half its glory.

The garden seems huge now but within the new space you can feel the zest of spring ~ the spring of life.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

8 thoughts on “Goodbye to All That”

  1. Ours is still in use, but the swings and slide lie idle. I just can’t get rid of them. I do have a great photo taken on the trampoline of a huge gang at my daughters first communion. They all got on and jumped just for the photo. It’s a wonder it ever recovered, but reading this post I was reminded of it. I do love the way you ended this, by the promise of fresh life in it’s place. Lovely post.

    1. Tric, thanks for your kind words.
      It’s been a strange week with the dismantling but it had become a complete hazard, especially for the dogs and I’d never forgive myself if one of them got injured messing with it.
      The slide went to neighbours a few years ago and it was good that it found a home where there were young kids to enjoy it.
      What still remains is the remnants of the sandpit. It was a pond once upon a time but had to be drained as H got adventurous. He adored the sandpit and I haven’t had the heart to do anything with the hole now which is full of weeds and play place for the dogs. Funny how when I look out the window, I see a sandpit with all the little diggers and dumpers not a weedy hole!

        1. I guess our mothers felt the same way about us. These are things it seems you have to learn from experience as no one tells you (and I suppose it’s different for each child and each parent).

  2. Sandy, I have a thing about clotheslines and all that they stand/stood for. Nothing like a good line of washing, well pegged, and blowing in the wind. I hope you find the photo your looking for.

Leave a Reply

