That ‘Christmas Letter to Dad’ Post

I’ve been bowled over in recent weeks at the number of times a post I wrote last year called Dear Dad: Giving a Thank You Letter as a Christmas Present to an Elderly Parent has been visited.

The search term information suggests that people are looking for ideas for what to give an elderly parent for Christmas or have already thought about the idea of writing a ‘thank you’ letter and are just checking out the idea online.

It brings me more satisfaction than I can describe to feel that publishing that post may inspire even one person to write a ‘thank you’ letter to his/her elderly mother or father while he/she has the chance.

This is definitely a case of a blog post being a slow burner as it certainly didn’t seem to have touched too many people in the immediate aftermath of writing it.

The whole experience of knowing that the post is being read has brought Dad very much to mind in recent times and that’s saying a lot as he’s never more than a heartbeat away.

I treated myself to a rummage through some of his photographs this evening and this is the one that kept rising to the top.

Eyes of an Irish Bridge Photo: Frank Tubridy
Eyes of an Irish Bridge
Photo: Frank Tubridy

I’d love to hear about any posts that have been slow burners for you or that have made you glow with satisfaction to find that they have been picked up by far more people than you ever imagined. 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

22 thoughts on “That ‘Christmas Letter to Dad’ Post”

  1. I have never checked how many views any particular post has got, but now I might.
    It is a sweet story, and I do hope it inspired many people to say thank you to their parents.

  2. Thanks so much. I don’t normally notice these things but that particular post has been in great demand over the last 4/5 weeks. If it only inspires one person to write I’ll be satisfied as that could be the one parent/grown-up child that needs it most.

  3. I love the photo and the name it was given. One of my favourite things about visiting Ireland a couple of years ago (apart from catching up with family) was going to Connemara and to walk on the same bridge that Maureen O’Hara and John Wayne walked in The Quiet Man…and the bridge looked similar to the one in the photo. Your post has interesting connotations for me as I always did ring and talk to Mum and Dad and make sure they knew that I cared about them…it wasn’t always easy especially with Mum as she grew older, but now as I look back I don’t have guilt to worry about. Oh, there’s lots of guilt in relation to other things though…but:). I really admire the wonderful relationship your family has with each other…

    1. Hi Olga, I’m glad the bridge photo brings you back to your Irish visit.
      I guess there isn’t a person in the world that doesn’t have guilt of some description in their hearts.

  4. Cross over the bridge..another song…We are so busy with life that we forget to say thank you to Mom or Dad and it’s only after they’re gone that we meant to say the things deep down in our heart. Lucky the daughter or son who took that important step while their parents were alive to say I appreciate all that you have done for me, the important things you said to me, and the love that was always there for me, even if I faltered along the way.

  5. What a beautiful idea and what makes the story all the more touching is knowing your father read it so many times and put it in a special hiding place. It’s amazing what a handwritten letter does for the soul.
    When my grandson was diagnosed with lymphoma this past summer I wrote a post called, The Ninth Floor, and was surprised how much it resonated with people and that it has been viewed over 500 times. Sometimes we write to make ourselves feel better and find that so many others have felt or been in the same place.

  6. I’ve had a few posts that seem to accumulate quite a few views over time, but the most recent one that surprised me was a post I made called “On Being Human in a World of Terror”. Here’s a link if you’re interested: https://ananonymousoutsider.wordpress.com/2015/11/19/on-being-human-in-a-world-of-terror/

    Thank you for sharing this. It’s really wonderful when something can catch on and inspire others.

    An Anonymous Outsider

      1. If you scroll down to search me underneath my post and enter The Dimple, It’s a Tiebreaker, it will take you to the post. I’m a little reluctant to post the link in your comments. The last time someone posted a link in my comments, WP posted the whole image, not just the link. I wouldn’t want that to happen to you. I don’t know if I was the only one who could see the whole image or anyone who read the comments. WP runs away with the spoon every now and then. 😉

  7. That’s interesting, Jean, it’s nice to know what really strikes a chord with people, and it’s never what we expect, is it? I have a few posts which trundle on nicely every day of the week, but a piece I wrote a long time ago – completely atypical of my usual subject matter – on how the ridiculous hairstyling in Peaky Blinders was driving me nuts seems to be a search engine winner!

Leave a Reply

