Stormy Seas

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

It’s been very stormy in Ireland over the last few days. It has seemed at times as if the end of the world is nigh with torrential rain, howling gales and dark, dark skies.

As I battled against the wind out at the beach during a lull in the rain, I was really struck by the beauty that can lie even in storms if we lift our heads and take a look around.

Pondering this, I had to conclude that there have been beautiful moments in the storms of life that have come my way over the years.

I’m writing this mainly as reminder to myself that storms are not all bad.

But I also want to reach out to anyone who is going through a storm in their lives right now. Please remember that the sun will shine again and that it may even be glinting at you, if only very fleetingly, to give you a glimpse of hope and better days ahead.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

14 thoughts on “Stormy Seas”

  1. Hi Jean…lovely photograph and thoughts about those who may not be travelling so well. I love the notion about the weather changing and it being winter for Christmas. It reminds me of my childhood and I know it might be a little selfish as not everyone like winter….but I can’t wait:):)

  2. We use to live near the ocean, and after a Nor-easter we would go to the local beach and look for sea clams before the sea gulls got them. Interesting how they open them they lift them up and let them crash onto the rocks. Sea clams are very delicious…for making chowder or a sea clam pie, the fleshy part near the hinge of the shell is like a sea scallop and delicious. Our oldest daugher did something when she was a child ..she stuck her finger in to the shell and it closed on her finger. My husband had to pry it open and for the longest time she had a crease on her finger. She never was inquisitive about sea clams again. The ocean when it rages makes me feel afraid because of it’s power to pull things into it and the roar is deafening, though it does have a beauty about it..the white caps and the height of each wave then the crash upon the shore. The salty spray ..in the winter months sometimes it freezes creating a bazaar type of moon scape on the shore..kind of eerie looking. I like to walk on the shore and look for things that have washed up on the shore.

    1. Hi Tric, oh the calm after the storm can be great. I hadn’t fully realised, though, how much hope there can be even when the storm is in full force. Sadly, some storms of life end badly and the calm can take a long time to settle, if ever. I guess we have to be as mindful as possible of the storm free days and nights and make the very most of them.

  3. I like to think storms have another good side, Jean. I live in a sort of glass box and when there’s a particularly violent storm, even though I worry sometimes about broken windows, there is nothing better in the world than sitting inside all cosied up, looking outside at the terrible beauty you’re sheltered from. I know there’s another metaphor in there somewhere.

    1. Sandy, glad you liked my little words of encouragement.
      Yes, I can imagine how you’d want to get away from the trees in a big storm. I’m not too keen seeing the monkey puzzle bending and waving in the wind pretty much right outside my study window when there’s a gale.

Leave a Reply

