The Comment that Stunned Me

Stunning Tramore
Stunning Tramore

I treasure every single comment that I receive here on Social Bridge. Comments and commenting are a key part of blogging ~ arguably as important as the posts, though the posts are required to generate the comments.

As you probably know, if you’re a regular, I sometimes get doubts about the concept of social bridges. I thought that the idea was going to set the world alight when I first dreamt it up towards the end of 2010 and I mean bring about the most incredible changes and connections at all levels from global violence to personal stuff.

I’ve gained hugely at a personal level from the connections and friendships that I’ve built through the blog and I am eternally grateful for that. But, there’s always the burning urge to be able to make an impact at a broader level.

I have been thinking about this a good deal of late and, even wondered about changing the name of the blog, but then a comment arrived from Phil at Aging Indiana. Phil is a guy I’ve never met in person but I feel I know him well because of our shared interest in ageing.

Here’s the comment he wrote on my post:  Dear Dad … Giving a Thank You Letter as a Christmas Present to an Elderly Parent. (It was interesting that this was the post he chose on which to leave his note!)

Jean. I had a dream the other night and you were a primary school teacher showing a picture of two children arguing to another small child. You asked the child “What do they need”? The child answered “A bridge. Not a real one. A social bridge.”

This was like an early Christmas present to me as it made me think that maybe, just maybe, the notion of social bridges is penetrating people’s consciousness at all sorts of different levels.

I’d love to think so, anyway

Please tell me about any comments you’ve received that have gone to the very heart of what you feel you’re about. 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

19 thoughts on “The Comment that Stunned Me”

  1. Hi there Jean re your recent piece about the idea behind your title ‘Social Bridge’-thanks for sharing and explaining this because it’s such an intriguing and interesting concept . As a very newbie blogger I still haven’t grasped how to get people to share their comments with me and have been feeling that it’s a missing link in the process so thanks for putting this out there. I really enjoy reading your posts which really are from the heart and feel very honest and authentic.

  2. Hi Patricia, thanks very much for your kind words.
    The main thing I would say about getting engagement on your blog is that ‘commenting begets comments.’ Blogging can be very interactive so it’s a matter of finding blogs that you like and develop a rapport with the writers by leaving comments. In the main, those bloggers that you comment on will visit your site and follow it if they feel it is in their line of interest. Once your following builds up, then the comments will as well.

    1. Robin, I’m with you about the gratefulness and amazement.
      Oh, the results were announced a while back. You must have missed the post. I was in the Final round-up but the winning post was on the Gay Marriage Issue which was a major talking point in Ireland this year.

  3. The comment that relates to me is the Serenity Prayer..”God, grant me the serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference.” Also “Faith is the bird that sings when the dawn is still dark”..credited to Rabinranath Tagore, who goes on to say..”.In times of crisis, we can feel overwhelmed, as if we can’t find our way out of the darkness. But if we can just remember all those times when we were strong and made it through our troubles, we will feel a ray of hope. And that ray will soon turn our dark night back into a sunny day”. And lastly, “Don’t Worry”..There are two times not to worry…1. Don’t worry if the problem is one you can fix..go and fix it. 2. Don’t worry if the problem is one you can’t fix, because worrying won’t change anything..How many times do we substitute worrying for the harder task of fixing?…Action: Today if you’re feeling anxious..ask yourself “Is it something I can fix…if the answer is NO..Stop Worrying.”…I don’t know who wrote this comment but it’s a gem…

  4. Your blog is really something… Just saying. You are an inspiration for so many people out there. Your blog is not just a blog, it’s more than a blog. I can’t find the words for it… I have received so many beautiful comments through the years, but I feel very blessed when I inspire people to write poems when they see my work, I have published them on my blog too. I feel both blessed and honored. And I appreciate all my blog friends… I wouldn’t be blogging if I didn’t have my blog friends and readers.

    Take care. And keep up the good work.

  5. I love your blog Jean you make me feel like you are a sibling to me …I think your hope for a social bridge works beautifully, my best comments are like this
    Geetha B at https://geethaprodhom.wordpress.com/ replied to your comment Yes Geetha this is excellent
    Thank you, yours was too and inspired me to do the prompt.
    To inspire someone what more could you ask for. xxxx

  6. Ah, Jean, there are many. But I do believe in the power of the connection of those of us who share some common dreams and hopes. I recall in 1994 when my colleague in graduate school was talking about “talking” to people in Europe via the Internet and said, “This can change our lives.” While at the time, I had no desire to participate, I came to think he was right. It is about bridges, and social bridges. In my last class of the semester yesterday, it was very emotional, and while we did not label it that, it was really about bridges and connections and expressing those connections–“comments”–We who do this, who connect like this, do not always know what will happen or where it will lead. I like to think of it as planting the seed you may never see to fruition and harvest–it is about faith, and belief in our humanness.

Leave a Reply

