Coasting in Co. Waterford

I got to spend most of today out along the coast and it was bliss. There was a definite touch of Winter setting in but there was great colour, clarity and a sense of Co. Waterford being at one with itself.

The Copper Coast
The Copper Coast

Copper turned to blue, blue as I stood on the Bonmahon Beach, looking back towards the old mining works up on the cliffs at Tankardstown.

Bonmahon Beach, Co. Waterford
Bonmahon Beach, Co. Waterford

And I couldn’t resist plunging into the waves at Garrarus Beach just before sunset. The sea is holding her heat well and the waves were all playful and fluffy:

Bouyancy
Buoyancy

As the sun set, I was catapulted away by W.B. Yeats:

Embroidered Cloths
Embroidered Cloths

 

Aedh Wishes for the Cloths of Heaven

HAD I the heavens’ embroidered cloths,
Enwrought with golden and silver light,
The blue and the dim and the dark cloths
Of night and light and the half-light,
I would spread the cloths under your feet:
But I, being poor, have only my dreams;
I have spread my dreams under your feet;
Tread softly because you tread on my dreams.

(W.B. Yeats)

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

22 thoughts on “Coasting in Co. Waterford”

  1. I love the poetry by Yeats and I also enjoyed the song by Imogen Heap. The pictures are so beautiful …I can almost hear the waves lapping at the shore..

      1. When I was a little girl my Mom had a seashell or conch and she gave it to me telling me to place it by my ear and I could hear the ocean roar..Well ..I did and I belived that it was the ocean, but now I know the real reason..ha it kept me occupied didn’t it…

Leave a Reply

