Thoughts on Male Bloggers

Man in Blogland
Man in Blogland

Today is International Men’s Day and I’ve been hearing all sorts of discussions on the radio about various aspects of men’s lives.

It all led me to ponder on men who blog and I came to wonder how representative they are of men as a group. I’ve a feeling that men who blog may well be more sensitive, empathetic, creative, respectful of women ….. than men as a whole.

Today, I would like to extend a special thank you to all the men who visit Social Bridge. You bring fun, balance, interesting perspectives and your very own uniqueness.

Good health and happiness to you all and I hope you know how much you are appreciated here in blogland.

I’d be interested in hearing, especially from men who blog, how you see your place in blogland and how you are perceived by non-blogging men? 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

32 thoughts on “Thoughts on Male Bloggers”

  1. Men who blog are generally…male. To presume anything else as a common denominator would be a presupposition. And it is reasonable to not treat suppositions as facts. If I seek a peer group, I would not assume it okay to presume a brotherhood with other men just because they feel a need to express their opinions.

    1. Some of my favorite journalists are men…and some of my favorite journalists are women. Each brings a perspective that speaks to me, and that is what I seek in reading someone’s writing.

    2. Hi Van, I like your point about not ‘presuming brotherhood …’ It begs the question, I suppose, what, if anything, would make you assume it okay to presume a brotherhood with other men?

      1. Gender is often not enough to conclude a connection. It is not enough to know they understand me. Now, if they’ve worked in similar fields on similar projects, we might have something to talk about. And if they’ve ever been in a rock ‘n roll band, and keep a red rubber clown nose in their glove box in case of emergency, we could be getting close to something.

  2. Blogland for women and men pen for the same point of creativity in as much as they want to be heard. There are differences between men and woman that is for sure but when we pen we are either attracted to the writing foremost and we don’t think of the writer for that moment as male or female. As to put us in one camp of another is a form of separation when in m philosophy we are one. The pens cry ,the pens shout joy, the pens shout happiness etc it has no affinity to one sex. Be well.

    1. Joseph, it’s interesting that you make this point re gender not being foremost in our minds when we read. I must say I’ve not been sure on quite a few occasions whether a blogger was male or female until I went exploring their About pages etc.
      Be well, you too!

  3. Any male bloggers that I have read seem to have a creative side to their nature be it photography, writing about their experiences or even knitting ( the site that I visit has quite a few who knit and crochet) which is also an old craft .The fishermen used this craft when making their nets. Just like women there are all kinds that come to the site with different points of view .They can’t be lumped into one category as they’re all unique.

  4. Yes…gender equality and quality is for all…thanks very much Jean for letting us know about International men’s day…i hadnt realised…and it is interesting to note that when I went out food shopping this morning (family coming for the weekend) I also didn’t see any ephemera to celebrate the day…like we have for internaitonal women’s day…how about that?

    1. Seems like International Men’s Day hasn’t taken off in other places as much as it has in Ireland. I rather like the idea that we are leading the field in this regard as it seems crazy to have International Women’s Day as such a big thing when half the population are men.

  5. I’m with CC on this one… Every single male blogger I follow is interesting, intelligent, amusing and respectful. If they weren’t I definitely would not waste my time with them!

  6. What a good question – very interesting reading the comments. For generations, writers were predominantly men (and a few women who published with men’s names). Even J.K. Rowling used initials. Maybe now with blogging women are feeling freer to come into our own.

  7. I can’t speak for the whole species, but generally male bloggers I read are focused on their kids and families or love blogging about whatever passion drives them. Photography, poetry, writing and some of us are just smart asses (pointing finger at me), I would like to think all men are respectful to women, but sadly I know that isn’t the case.
    I got into blogging last year after getting my world rocked from a blindsided divorce as a way to heal myself and get my thoughts out of my head while trying to protect my daughter from the holy freaking terror that became my ex wife. After awhile I really enjoyed and started adding humor and a platform to state my case in my still ongoing custody battle.

  8. I would dearly love to see more male bloggers in my reader. I follow a few but they are very much outnumbered by female bloggers. Like you I’ve often read a blogger for some time before I have investigated if they are male or female.
    I often wonder if in fact there are significantly less males than females blogging or is it just my blog attracts more females.

  9. I am really a single issue blogger. It came to my attention that one particular fraud had published a book claiming all kinds of nonsense about the Irish language, and that the friends of this man, some of whom are big-wigs in Irish America, as well as many journalists who seem to be completely clueless about linguistics and history, have continued to boost and support this nonsense. As I have a knowledge of Irish, or linguistics and of Irish history, I feltI was in a position to inform people about the truth and take the liars on. However, focusing on one topic rather than being inclusive and all-encompassing is, I think, typically male behaviour!

    1. Sounds very interesting, I must say, and I look forward to visiting your blog.
      As for the single topic focus and gender. I’m not so sure. I can think of lots of women I follow who are single issue people and men who aren’t.
      The matter of being single issue or not is one that interests me as I sometimes feel I’m too broadly based. However, being broadly-based allows one to meet all sorts of interesting men and women and even one eleven year old girl who blog on a very wide range of topics and come from all over the globe.

  10. You’re probably right, though I’ve heard it said that there is a correspondence between male thought patterns and the autistic spectrum. I think they were saying that the obsessions with home-made wine, toy trains, the contents of one’s shed, the scripts of Dr Who etc. which are so typical of men are also in some sense typical of people on the spectrum. I don’t know if this is widely believed or if it’s a little sexist to claim that but there are quite a lot of items online about autism and ‘extreme maleness.’

  11. I’ve never really thought of myself as a ‘male blogger’. When I first started, my posts were more about advertising, (what I did for a living). Gradually, the focus shifted towards the arts, (my passion). I probably read a 50/50 split of male/female bloggers, mainly about the arts in some form or another. I get a lot of positive feedback from male non-blogging friends. And have some pretty regular followers.

    1. That’s interesting, Dave, about not really seeing yourself as a ‘male blogger.’ And it’s even more interesting about the feedback from male ‘non-blogging’ friends. I suspect you are a little unusual in that, especially if it’s in face to face interaction. I seldom get any feedback from non-bloggers of either sex. I wonder what that says about either of us!

Leave a Reply

