Blogging and Time

Time and Timelessness
Time and Timelessness

The relationship between blogging and time is a source of fascination to me and I often wonder how other bloggers carve out the time to blog.

I know I’ve pretty much dumped television since starting to blog (not that television was ever a huge part of my life) and I’d have to say that I tend to read fewer novels now than I did before the blog came into play. I’m not altogether sure if that drop off in novel reading was caused by blogging or just happened in and around the same time.

Obviously, there are lots of ways to find time, including getting up earlier or staying up later.

But, when it comes to blogging, the whole issue of time seems to turn itself upside-down and inside-out as the blogging world never sleeps. I rather like logging on in the early hours of the morning here in Ireland and seeing California, for example, in full swing.

There’s also the little matter of the way time seems to go away or not be part of the blogging process as one gets immersed.

I often wonder when other bloggers blog ~ is it at a set time? And how is it that some bloggers are so much on the ball in relation to answering comments and responding to posts?

The time that these questions hit me most is when I’m walking around the block with Β Puppy Stan in the evenings and I see televisions flickering in the corners of sitting-rooms.

Yes, televisions are still a key part of sitting-rooms in Ireland!

So, I’d love to know about your ‘blogging time.’ Curiosity is getting the better of me!Β 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

58 thoughts on “Blogging and Time”

  1. The PC is whirring pretty much all the time I’m in and awake. Living alone with the small dog and not having TV (through choice) there seems to be plenty of time after years of running a busy household πŸ™‚

      1. It does, Jean. You can waste so much time staring at that box… at least with a PC you are actively engaged in using your brain. Though I admit I occasionally miss the documentaries and films… but even those, the PC can supply.

  2. I am with you. There never seem to be enough time to catch up and comment on blogs. Instead of reading or watching TV, I find I am catching up with my reader, and that’s only the blogs I follow. Other topics only get covered occasionally!

    1. Hi Joan, it was more the matter of what people have dropped to blog than the issue of trying to keep up. I think the latter is impossible unless following a very limited number of blogs and that kinda defeats the fun of blogging.

  3. Up in the morning sipping tea and reading the blogs and answering. I then go outside in the garden and putter or to the beach, or the forest for a stroll. There is so much to do in my corner of the world that If I gave up blogging there would be a shift to other things. I then come home for lunch. I answer all my afternoon responses and late morning. I may have a nap or no. I get supper ready and back to the blogging to answer my questions and answers. If I don’t do this I end up with so many post to read and to answer and to ask questions. Time is not a factor as I work from home and that gives me leisure time to blog. My work I can do whenever as I have deadlines and I work well under pressure. That is a little peek into my blogging career lol

  4. I usually do some in the morning while I enjoy my coffee and whatever I choose to have to go with it. I just have a couple of sites that I visit as I like to allow time for my other likes ..knitting and reading. Of course there’s always housekeeping trying to keep the dust at bay…I like all those clocks. My husband has a collection of pocket watches so I bought him a display case to keep them in. Some are unusual, some work others don’t. I like to browse other sites to see what bargains can be had especially for Christmas..I rarely go to the Mall and prefer smaller shops. I check my computer a couple of times a day. Sometimes I play Mah Jong or Solitaire or do a puzzle. I like to go for drives to see what’s happening out in the world. I get only two papers per week a local and the Sunday edition of the daily newspaper. I don’t own a cell phone and have a landline one which I rarely use only when I need to verifyi an appt. or call one of the kids to check up on them. So this is how my day is spent and I do prepare meals for hubby and myself.

    1. Joni, you sound nicely organised and well balanced. I love collections of clocks and watches. The issue of working or not doesn’t matter a lot to me. It’s the craftsmanship involved.

  5. I’m not reading or watching TV as much either Jean. In the evening I’d rather tune in to this world of connection than escape into a book or the distraction of TV.
    I usually have some time in between getting up and having breakfast, as hubby takes the dogs out and feeds them then.
    On Saturday it was raining and I spent 3 hours catching up on everyone and writing some posts ahead of time. That’s a luxury 😊

    1. Hi Val, yes the connections of blogging beat TV for me almost every time too, except for some essential sport viewing like tennis. I don’t think I could ever blog instead of walking/feeding the dogs. That’s one of my luxuries in life.

  6. Hi Jean,

    You pose some interesting questions. I find I do my most creative blogging on Sunday afternoons when I just sit down and write.

    I read and respond to other blogs in late afternoon. It’s my reward for working hard all day.

    Nancy

  7. I blog anytime a good idea hits me, not on a schedule. If I get inspired, I write it, post it and move on to the next thing. I think that keeps it fresh and immediate for me.

    Sandy Penny, WritingMuse.comFounder, SweetMysteryBooks.com

    Date: Tue, 10 Nov 2015 18:53:20 +0000 To: sandypenny@live.com

  8. Like Sandy, I blog any time the muse hits – or not! I am a very disorganised blogger and have no set agenda. Usually, in the mornings, if I wake up earlier than expected, I will go through my emails and click on the blogs I enjoy reading; if I get up later, then I make the boys their lunch, send them off to school and spend a half-hour reading. Weather permitting, I’m off for a walk, camera in hand, with Zeke. Depending on how long I walk, back to the computer to read some more. Especially with the Friday Fictioneers: I try to read all the stories and there are up to 85+ some weeks. You’d think 100-word stories would be zippety-quick but no, I read and comment – on those who bother responding…

    I often find myself writing my own blog late at night, after supper, watching a show with the boys and dishes… like right now. It is 10:40 and I’m responding to blogs instead of writing my own!

            1. Fluffy (though short-haired) is not the biggest fan. He was 7 by the time we got Zeke. He just whines when Zeke gets too close!
              Moondust rubs herself on him. He lets her do whatever she wants!

  9. Until somewhat recently I read blogs when I got up on many days, but lately it has been more hit or miss. Same with posts. I like a more regular routine and hope to get mine back!

  10. Thought provoking Jean. It is not just the time sat in front of the PC, blogging/photography influences what we do i.e. where shall I go today for that WordPress post or that daily blip photo – it seeps into every corner of our lives. There is probably a name for it πŸ™‚ BTW, I deliberately switch off comments on Blip – just one too many jobs otherwise.

    1. Robin, I agree wholeheartedly. There’s also the time thinking about how to respond to posts or comments that play on the mind.
      Thanks for the tip re blip. Don’t think I have to worry re comments for now!

  11. Gosh, Jean! Very incisive point of view. I am not anymore a blogger these days as i cannot put together more than two sentences, i just add a picture time to time, meaning that I am still alive. πŸ™‚ I do read a lot of online articles or blogs, very interesting thus i decide to cut the online time, especially not to come online in the morning, only because that day just flys without to give me a notice.

    1. Oddly enough, I find it very difficult to blog if I let a day or two slip by. It’s like I need to keep up with myself or something. AND, unlike you, I don’t tend to travel much or attend to clutter, though had a mega tear into it today. There’s mountains of stuff ready for despatch. Feel all choked up with dust but chuffed. Wonder will this last. I can feel the coast calling loudly!

        1. Hope your ‘tomorrow’ has come! I’ve run out of steam for now but made the fatal mistake of leaving ‘stuff’ all over the place. Maybe this will get me moving again. If not, someone will be taking a tumble soon!

  12. Blogging has become an important (and time-consuming) part of my life, and I never intended it to, nor acknowledge that fact until I read a post like yours. I read my blog comments and other blogs early early in the morning (5:30) to connect with others before I start my day. By mid-week I begin to think about what I’ll write for my Friday blog. I definitely watch less TV since I began blogging -writing is so much more creative than sitting in front of the ‘tube.’ And think of all the new friends we’ve met out in the blogging universe!! It’s worth the TIME.

    1. That’s really interesting about your early morning connecting time. I agree fully about blogging bringing a whole new world of friends. Somehow, I never anticipated that when I started out. Never even entered my mind.

  13. Hey Jean… I’ve actually started highlighting the text to let the iPad read blog posts to me whilst knitting or watching tv (with earphones and hubby) in the evenings. This works well for longer posts and also lets me skim the post’s photos… I used to always just knit… sigh… :-/ β™₯ ❀

          1. Truly, the iPad is an amazing tool and I’ve been so fortunate to have one! My iMac replacement has come close a couple of times… But this is oil country and barrel prices are down… which drags the economy down… which pushes job loss way up! 😦 So for now, we make do and hope the storm passes sooner than later… :-/ This too shall pass πŸ™‚ β™₯ ❀

Leave a Reply

