Another Kind of Sunset

Tower Hill, Porlaw, Co. Waterford
Tower Hill, Portlaw, Co. Waterford

Today was one of those golden mother and son days. He wanted to go running up in the woods near Portlaw village and the Curraghmore Estate of Lord Waterford.

As he disappeared into the haze, the setting sun played with  the undergrowth keeping my heart warm until he came jogging back with that glowing smile that has mattered so much to me for twenty years now.

Sunset
Golden Hues

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

13 thoughts on “Another Kind of Sunset”

  1. Beautiful pictures, and a heart-warming story. I think of the retirement years as the golden years, time to do things that there wasn’t time for in the past. We look at things differently than we did years ago..things that mattered then don’t really matter now. Other things have taken their place , like being able to sit down and enjoy the sunset, or to look at a flower that we may have past by without a second thought. Enjoying our children who have grown into young independent adults (hopefully). Watching as they embark on their dreams and hopes.

  2. Nice entry. This lane reminds me of a story or movie can’t remember which however, she travels down this lane and kills people with arsenic. Yes I know nice little girl. The lady who is elderly comments on how she loves almond tea. That is all I remember of this enchanting little girl story

      1. Yes I had almond tea years ago in the fall and I always think it will show up on the shelf somewhere. Sitting on the porch, sunshine shining in, writing, sipping on almond ….there’s another memory.

Leave a Reply

