Unlocking November

John F. Kennedy Arboretum, Co. Wexford
John F. Kennedy Arboretum, Co. Wexford

This scene in the John F. Kennedy Arboretum in Co. Wexford this afternoon unlocked my door into November and the remainder of this year. It was a calm and peaceful unlocking.

Who knows what lies ahead? Who wants to know?

But, I guess we all have hopes. Mine relate to health, happiness and peace at both a personal and a WORLDWIDE level.

I’d like to feel that the wooden seat will be a place where people will stop awhile and draw breath. I’d also like it to be a seat where the lonely find companionship; enemies see paths to peaceful resolutions; lovers grow in trust; friends support each other; strangers exchange smiles; artists find inspiration; and each moment spent there is truly treasured.

May November bring you health, hope and happiness and a sense of connection to the magic of nature.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

31 thoughts on “Unlocking November”

  1. May November bring you health, hope and happiness and a sense of connection to the magic of nature too Jean. What a beautfiul photo…the autumn? colours are so inspiring…I want to rush into my study and rummage around the cupboard for my paints:)

  2. Very pretty, and I can see why it would be a special place to sit and meditate. For that special reason we have a cemetary which is a stone throw from where we live. We took our grandaughter there for a walk which made an impression on her, as months later she said ..” Can we take a walk in the quiet place”..out of the mouths of babes..Your park is a wonderful tribute to President Kennedy.

    1. Joni, that’s wonderful about your grand daughter appreciating quiet places at a very young age.
      Yes the John F. Kennedy Arboretum is pretty spectacular. It’s just a couple of miles from the ‘Kennedy Homestead’ and it’s quite remarkable to see the place from which the Kennedy’s set sail many years ago.JFK certainly holds a special place in many Irish hearts.

      1. Probably so that most people prefer spring. It is just that to me, there is a “filter” in the air/sunlight in fall that is not there any other time, and the weather then is just ideal to me, as are the fall colors. I get a feeling then like no other season. I am really not a Thanksgiving or Christmas kind of person for the most part–or any holiday actually–so I don’t really know about the role of Thanksgiving.

  3. I really love the serenity in this image… it feels as if I’m there just by looking at your image. Beautifully written words too (as usual). You always seem to find the right words. Thanks for the good wishes, Jean and I wish you a fabulous November.

Leave a Reply

