The Red Bridge

The Red Bridge, Cappoquin, Co. Waterford
The Red Bridge, Cappoquin, Co. Waterford

Cappoquin is a small town in West Waterford. It’s a place I’ve been passing through for years and one of its loveliest features, for me, is The Red Bridge.

The bridge was opened in 1878 and was part of a vital railway network that connected Cork to Waterford and onwards to Rosslare in Co. Wexford.

The railway line was closed in 1967 and the last train passed over The Red Bridge in early 1968, carrying with it the tracks as they were dismantled in its wake.

Every time I stand by the bridge, I think of those who were involved in building it and wonder about the experiences and thoughts of the many, many people who traversed the bridge as they journeyed along the tracks of life.

Bridging Time
Bridging Time

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

17 thoughts on “The Red Bridge”

  1. I love bridges but not to fond of crossing on them..I love covered bridges for some reason I feel safe because of the enclosure. Almost like being in a caccoon where the open bridges make me anxious , as looking down through the girders one can see the perils of falling. There is a bridge that connects the town of Duxbury to the beach…a wooden span and it’s quite long and you can feel the vibration of the wood as you travel over in your car, not for the faint of heart, this too is open at the sides and I prefer not to go over it but I do with my heart in my throat, I try to face my fear not very easy to do. I like my feet on the “terra firma”…I use to ride on the train when I was a child and found that ok and we did go over water but it never phased me then, only bridges where you go over by an auto..

  2. I love some of the images your post brings forth in my mind. As soon as I read about people journey over and close by the bridge I wanted to sit down and write a story…love the Red Bridge:)

  3. Another wonderful set of images. A most interesting bridge indeed, with it’s dual materials. Wonder why they went with stone at one end? Lucky for us it got you to write about it and share it with us!

Leave a Reply

