How Can I Describe This?

I said ‘Goodnight’ to the calmest sea imaginable last night. It was like she was a sleeping baby snuggled up in light blue and pink.

Garrarus Beach at Sunset
Garrarus Beach at Sunset

What I woke to this morning was a different sort of child ~ dark and moody but with a glint of hope in her eyes.

Tramore Bay, Co. Waterford
Tramore Bay, Co. Waterford

I made for Newtown Cove doubting that a swim would be possible because of the rising tide and choppy waves.

What greeted me was a packed car park and when I looked down I saw that there were lots of people swimming in the sheltered inlet.

Newtown Cove, Co. Waterford.
Newtown Cove, Co. Waterford.

Some of the better swimmers were diving in towards the open sea:

Ready, Steady ...
Ready, Steady …

Seeing the swimmers was one thing but joining them was quite another. The sense of togetherness was palpable. Friends, acquaintances, strangers … it didn’t matter. Everyone was chatting to everyone. This was a moment of communal love and respect for both the sea and those who crave it.

Go!
Go!

All the talk was about how warm the water still is; how a swim sets you up for the day; how Ireland should beat Italy in the Rugby World Cup …

See, it’s not all about appearances. It’s about embracing and enjoying nature and connecting with kindred spirits in the process.

How was YOUR Sunday Morning? 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

25 thoughts on “How Can I Describe This?”

  1. Holy Spajolie – it would be hard to beat that Jean. It’s already too cold to swim here (without scuba suits) but we don’t have the Gulf Stream lighting up our sea. So did you go in for a swim? I bet Stan would have loved it.

    1. Hi Paul, yeah I went in alright and the water was lovely ~ really buoyant and still holding the Summer heat.
      Stan isn’t all that keen on the water. He’s more of a rock pool creature.

  2. We are having our first really hot days of the season and I have my bathers ready now in my pack, Out bushwalking on Friday last, I really wished I had them with me when the pale turquoise water was just so tempting. Such a lovely photo of the setting sun bathing the sky and water in pale blossom colours. But I also love the moody lights in the second photo, No two days are ever the same:):)

    1. Yep! Must say, there’s a lot of sympathy here for the England team. It was painful to see them go out, especially when there will always be that question about going for the try against Wales.

  3. “The calm before the storm”…I think the recent hurricaine that we have experience is heading out towards the open ocean and this is what you are seeing. Some people like the thrill of the chase, tempting mother nature and seeing her in her wild nature.. while others are content to just view it from afar. I think the pictures are lovely showing the different moods of the ocean, and those who enjoy it…It has a way of bringing us all together.

    1. Hi Joni, it certainly seemed like the calm before some kind of storm, though mercifully we didn’t get anything significant (yet!)
      I agree that the ocean has a way of bringing people together in a host of different ways.

Leave a Reply

