Our 24th Wedding Anniversary

It’s our 24th Wedding Anniversary today and I decided to dig out the wedding photos to take a peep at them.

Twenty-four years is a long time but I thought I  remembered the day as vividly as if it were today. I’d have said that I wasn’t a wedding person at all but am shocked at the extent to which I was smiling through the it all ~ even the ceremony!

Our Wedding Ceremony at Carbally Church, Co. Waterford.
Our Wedding Ceremony at Carbally Church, Co. Waterford.

The other thing that came flooding back to me as I looked at the photos was the church music. I’d never heard of Panis Angelicus until a few weeks before the wedding when I was asked what hymns I wanted. I hadn’t a notion but a musical friend suggested Panis Angelicus, among other gems, and when I heard it for the first time on 21st September, 1991,  in the little church in Carbally, I was absolutely stunned by its beauty.

So twenty-four years on, I decided it was time to make up for what I felt was a lost swim on our wedding day. I’d had curls put into my extremely straight hair for the occasion and everyone warned me that a swim would wash them out. I felt absolutely deprived as I see a swim as being an essential, especially on ‘special days’ ~ in other words, everyday.

Annestown Beach was divine this morning and felt exactly the right place to be.

Annestown Beach, Co. Waterford
Annestown Beach, Co. Waterford

Hubby, as I mentioned here before, isn’t into ‘special days,’ like birthdays and anniversaries so I’m wondering how he’ll react when I present him with the wedding album on a plate with his supper.

Wedding
All Smiles!

Best go and get the supper ready!!!

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

35 thoughts on “Our 24th Wedding Anniversary”

  1. A warm congratulations on your 24th to both of you and many more. We just celebrated our 56th on Sept. 5th. We usually go away for a short holiday or go out to eat..this year we went to the Cape.

  2. Many many congratulations on your lovely anniversary, what strikes me most is that you both look so very happy, relaxed and so obviously in love. There looks to be a certainty in you both that ” this is right ” and the years have proved this so!
    The sea as ever looks glorious and I bet you enjoyed that swim! this August just gone we have been married 44yrs so I am amazed to say we have been married 20yrs longer than you you …… eek ! I was a young bride though! 🙂 hope this s not too lae but I am away and the internet is very sketchy!! Be well and happy!! xxxxx

Leave a Reply

