Sea of Love in Co. Waterford

September is my favourite time of the year for swimming in the sea here in Ireland and yesterday morning I felt that the ocean was going out of her way to reciprocate my love with her creative tones, curves and splashes.

Light and Shade at Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Light and Shade at Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

Oh, the bliss of  plunging into the welcoming waves:

The Blue and White of Co. Waterford
The Blue and White of Co. Waterford

And how about this for a gentle ‘I love you …’

Heartfelt
Heartfelt

In the biting honesty of salt, the sea makes her secrets known to those who care to listen. (Maxine Hong Kingston)

***

Social Bridge has been shortlisted in The Irish Blog Awards 2015 in the Best Post Category. I’d be delighted if you’d take a few seconds to Vote for me. (Many, many thanks for those who already have!) Here’s the Vote Button:

Vote for Us Buttons 300x250

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

32 thoughts on “Sea of Love in Co. Waterford”

    1. When I lived in the Big Smoke I spent hours every week going to Killiney Beach and Dun Laoghaire Pier. It was pretty obvious that living somewhere like Tramore was what was required But, I miss the Art Galleries particularly and don’t seem to find enough excuses to spend a few days/nights in Dublin. Must look into that too!

      1. You must. And Culture Night is this Friday, you know! I get to escape westwards a lot so I get a break from the madness but I would love to be close to a proper body of water. I grew up beside a lake and the Liffey just doesn’t cut it 😦

  1. Sea Fever
    BY JOHN MASEFIELD
    I must go down to the seas again, to the lonely sea and the sky,
    And all I ask is a tall ship and a star to steer her by;
    And the wheel’s kick and the wind’s song and the white sail’s shaking,
    And a grey mist on the sea’s face, and a grey dawn breaking.

    I must go down to the seas again, for the call of the running tide
    Is a wild call and a clear call that may not be denied;
    And all I ask is a windy day with the white clouds flying,
    And the flung spray and the blown spume, and the sea-gulls crying.

    I must go down to the seas again, to the vagrant gypsy life,
    To the gull’s way and the whale’s way where the wind’s like a whetted knife;
    And all I ask is a merry yarn from a laughing fellow-rover,
    And quiet sleep and a sweet dream when the long trick’s over.

  2. Beautiful pics especially of the heart formed by the waves. We recently vacationed down on the Mid-Cape in Yarmouth and had access to a beach that was quite beautiful. We were able to see sailing boats, cruise boats and beautiful sunrise and sunsets. Also the gulls were quite at home swooping and diving into the water. Lucky are those who access to the ocean …

      1. It is very familiar to me – I used to have a paper route when I was young and in the summer when it was light at 6 am I used to see light like that when I was doing my rounds. It holds a very positive, enthusiastic, almost personal attitude for me. 😀

Leave a Reply

