The Little Boy

The sight of this little boy walking ahead of me up the Comeragh Mountains here in Co. Waterford made me wonder how childhood Sundays could vary so dramatically across the globe.

This little guy was with his parents and baby sister. He had fallen in love with a rock and wanted to bring it home to keep forever and ever. His parents tried to persuade him to leave it with all the other rocks or even to hide it so that he could see it the next time they visited. But he was determined to carry it all the way back to the car.

He was an energetic, bubbly kid and the family seemed really happy as they made their way back to their car with a now empty picnic basket.

What a contrast to the thousands of children walking ~ fleeing ~ war torn places like Syria on this September Sunday.

If only, if only, all the children of the world could have the safety, security and innocence of this little boy up on the mountains.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

32 thoughts on “The Little Boy”

  1. Yes we would be living in a different world should this wish happen. I’m a rock hound therefore I know the plight of this child being persuaded to leave the rock being. When mother wasn’t looking I put it in my pocket right away and then under my pants in the dresser. Eventually my mother would find them and throw them in the gravel driveway. What was she thinking of…retrieval.

    1. You’ll be glad to hear that this little guy’s persuasiveness won through and he’s carrying the rock in the photo! I suspect that its in his treasure trove as I write as the parents seemed to understand! I wonder if he will be a geologist later on?

  2. That’s a rare site to behold..a childs’ inquisitiveness over something that we all pass by..be it a stone, a flower, a leaf…looking at it intently seeing its structure. I have rocks from the beach that remind me of candy because of the color and lines that are on it..they even sell candy that resembles rocks.We still have some shells & rocks that were collected by our children that caught their attention at a younger age..special things. I just bought a kaliedescope as I love the designs the pieces of glass, plastice etc create. Being a collector of many oddities , I sometimes see things in a different light. It “sparks” our imagination…priceless!

  3. Yes. This photo reminds me of my 3-year-old grandson who finds little rocks/stones from his driveway and stockpiles them in his little hiding spots – outside and INside his home. If all children could have the freedom to …be children.

Leave a Reply

