What are the Most Comforting Sounds?

I suspect almost everyone has a few sounds, at least, that spell ‘comfort’ and ‘security’ for them.

The one that dominates my thinking is the sound of tea being  poured from  a teapot into a cup.

“Tea-Time” (Pierre Auguste Renoir, 1911)

I’d love to hear about the sounds that you love, especially the ones that give you a sense that ‘everything is going to be okay.’ 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

68 thoughts on “What are the Most Comforting Sounds?”

          1. Oh, I can understand that. I love the sound of raindrops on leaves overhead and really we wouldn’t have the lovely green countryside that we have here in Ireland without a fair share of rain so no complaints!

  1. Love the sound of a 500 horsepower diesel Caterpillar Truck Engine pulling hard under full turbo boost. The feeling of all that power being employed doing what it is designed to do and knowing that you control it – it is an extension of your measly 1/4 horsepower personal strength. I have actually gotten out of the truck on a hot summer night at a truck stop. smelled the diesel fumes and thought : Ummm, food.

      1. As a guy I feel it is my responsibility to contribute eclectic male comments from my repertoire to increase your chances of winning the contest. 😀

  2. I like the sound of the ocean waves or a brook trickling over rocks, or the soft sound of a gentle rain fall. The sound of coffee percolating and the aroma of it wafting through the house…a freshly baked Apple pie, or the scent of Thanksgiving all the different things cooking ..yummm…The fresh scent of new mown grass..reminds me of watermelon..

  3. I am with you: tea poured from a teapot into a cup resting on a saucer. The ritual of making the tea by preparing the teapot, selecting which teapot, which cup and saucer are part of what makes it so delicious and comforting.

  4. I love hearing birds sing their beautiful songs the moment I wake up. They tell me to get up and make the most of the day that lies ahead.
    The sound of the bodhrán and uilleann pipes make me feel closer to Ireland. They often make me cry tears of love for the Emerald Isle.

  5. The sound of the kettle boiling, the smell of coffee brewing and the gasp as the first taste touches the tongue. Then there’s the brids singing, the dog playing with his favourite old toy and when my husband calls out ‘cuppa’s ready.’ What a great idea for a conversation.

  6. I love to here the sound of rain on the window/ roof when I am safe and warm inside! Also I love the sound of the sea something about its relentlessness I suppose, and a new one the sound of our grandson laughing. 🙂

  7. A lawnmower, droning on, late on a summer night. Reminds me of being a kid and my Dad continuing to cut the grass until it was almost too dark to see where he was going. He’s not been well lately so it’s a sound I would dearly love to hear again.

      1. All that scribbling I was doing on waiting some weeks back was about him, Jean. Happy to say after a rough time he’s now doing much better. Not lawnmower better, but I have high hopes for next summer. It’s so often about the sounds of childhood, isn’t it? And to echo what Olga says above: what a great idea for a conversation!

        1. Tara, I’m so glad that the ‘waiting’ has had a happy outcome. It sounded very tense but I think father/daughter relationships are extremely special so I’m not a bit surprised.
          Yes, sounds of childhood seem to stay with us ~ the comforting and not so comforting ones. I can’t even begin to imagine how the poor refugee kids we’re seeing on the TV every night now will remember the sounds of their childhoods. Maybe, just maybe, they will have something comforting to fall back on.

          1. That’s a huge point about the Syrian kids – hopefully it’s only the good memories that will stick. I’m extremely lucky to have many myself. They hold you up during the tough times.

  8. I know I am very late on this comment but my cat, Rita’s purring is so soothing. And this may sound odd, but the sound of a baseball game on the radio is comforting. It reminds me of my childhood, listening to games on the radio with my dad as a child.

    1. Hi Nancy, never too late!
      I can imagine how soothing a cat purring could be, especially one that is precious.
      How interesting about the baseball on the radio. That makes me think of how my mother used to love listening to tennis on the radio (for all the same reasons as you!)

Leave a Reply

