Dawnings

Woodstown Beach, Co. Waterford
Woodstown Beach, Co. Waterford

Peace reigned at Woodstown Beach when I made my way out there very early yesterday morning. It was in stark contrast to the tossing and turning that had marked my attempts to sleep.

The end of August has always made me a bit uneasy as I feel I should be getting all organised and setting goals for the remaining months of the year.  No doubt, this is sparked by all those years of returning to school with newly sharpened pencils and blank copybooks as September loomed.

I’m now beginning to wonder how sensible it is to set goals and targets just because we are facing into Autumn and Winter. Is that a good enough reason to be doing such a thing? Or should we wait for the goals, or whatever one likes to call them, to gently ease their way into our minds and imaginations, in the undramatic, yet inspiring way, that the day opened up over Woodstown Beach before my sleepy eyes yesterday?

The very word ‘goal’ makes me think of games like hurling, hockey and soccer where the roles of both ‘strikers’ and ‘goalkeepers’ are key. We applaud the great goals but we also applaud the great saves.

As I sauntered along the beach, it dawned on me that there is a lot to be said for living in a space where both goal-making and goal-keeping can co-exist.

The nature of this space is peaceful, creative, interactive, vibrant, inspiring …..

How are you viewing the dawning of Autumn and Winter? 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

26 thoughts on “Dawnings”

  1. Fall means change to me..the changing of the color of the trees..an end to the growing season while other things coming to fruition. A time to take stock of what will be needed as one season melds into the other and make plans. A time to sweep the dust and accumulation of things that have taken up space in our lives, getting rid of the stuff that weighs us down. Just like Spring it’s a renewal of getting back on course…

  2. What an amazing picture, Jean. A beautiful mix of blue, grey.
    I prefer autumn because of the rain, the colour of the leaves and just because I am getting older every autumn 🙂 but i love winter, spring and summer. Great post!

    1. Thanks Dana. At first, I was a bit disappointed that there wasn’t a dramatic sunrise of gold and orange but came to love the softness of the colours that unfolded and the gentleness of the water.

  3. There is nothing quite like the feeling of a morning along the water’s edge…and the end of August is actually an exciting time for me as my favorite month is ahead 🙂

  4. I love all the seasons, but always especially look forward to autumn, as it’s my favorite season of all – so colorful, so crisp, so alive even as death approaches. However, I have a lot on my plate at the moment, ‘goals’ that must be accomplished before the cold temps arrive, and that has me feeling a bit apprehensive entering into September this year.
    Your photo here is so serene Jean, I think I’ll just gaze at it a while and set aside all the “to-do’s” for now…

  5. For me, autumn is leading into a period of rest and contemplation – the harvest on the equinox when we reckon up all that we’ve achieved and look for where we need balance and the new year at Halloween, when we enter the dreaming season.

Leave a Reply

