What Page Are You On?

It’s 4pm on Sunday afternoon, August 16th,  here in Ireland and I’ve just been reclining after a lovely walk around Tramore Beach.

I always have a pile of books to hand and my choice today for a relaxing read was this particular favourite:

Love

While reading is a solitary activity, my mind often wanders to what books other people are reading as I’m reading mine. So this is the question I put to you, dear friends.

How fortunate we are to be able to read ~ in terms of both being literate and having the necessary eyesight!

The particular page I’ve been reading is 325 and this  gem:

Love after Love

The time will come
when, with elation
you will greet yourself arriving
at your own door, in your own mirror
and each will smile at the other’s welcome,

and say, sit here. Eat.
You will love again the stranger who was your self.
Give wine. Give bread. Give back your heart
to itself, to the stranger who has loved you

all your life, whom you ignored
for another, who knows you by heart.
Take down the love letters from the bookshelf,

the photographs, the desperate notes,
peel your own image from the mirror.
Sit. Feast on your life.

(Derek Walcott)

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

26 thoughts on “What Page Are You On?”

  1. What an amazing Poem. I have had a busy day, I walked to the shops for some coconut milk ( we are having Thai curry tonight) then I baked some scones all the while editing Paul’s If we were having coffee. Washed the kitchen floor and now I am watching Chocolate the film! Have a lovely evening. xxx

  2. I just finished reading awhile ago” To The Lighthouse”,I know that you enjoyed it, but it was a little deep for me, I struggled with reading it, picking it up and putting it down. The funny thing is I got a book marker with other books that had this particular authors’ picture and name on it. Virginia Woolf. I’m into fiction about Ireland (I guess I’m a romantic at heart). I’m also reading another hard to get into book called “The Longing For Home” by Frederick Buechner (a book about recollections and reflections)..about finding ones self…it’s almost like you never can go back but have memories of being there. I’m waiting for some light reading to bring with me to the Cape. I like reading about peoples personalities and backrounds. Especially the Irish because of my ancestry and the Amish which I find interesting…

    1. Joni, that’s interesting about ‘To the Lighthouse.’ I suspect if I’d read it, rather than listened to it on audio, I might have felt the same.

      It’s funny how one can get into a run of ‘hard to get into books’ and then have a really good run. I’m on the latter right now and just hope it never ends.

      We have an Amish community here in Co. Waterford. I don’t know a huge amount about it but must try and find out.

      I hope you find suitable reading for the Cape. I suspect, though, that the place will read to you!

      1. Right now I’m reading a fiction historical paperback book titled “The Mist And The Magic” by Susan Wiggs..it takes place around 1658 and Oliver Cromwell is trying to take over Clonmuir by having a prisoner who has been saved from a hanging in England and using him to find a certain person in Ireland. By using the prisoners daughter as a pawn to control his movements to his advantage. A plan with intrigue to put him among the Irish and to set a trap to catch the important person so he can be brought back to England and executed. I just started reading this today..so I’m just at the beginning. There’s alot of land to be confisticated if the plan works, but Love enters the picture and is sure to make it complicated..

  3. Hi Jean,

    What a wonderful way to spend a summer Sunday! As for my reading, I took the list of Time’s best books for the first half of 2015 and requested them from my library. There were many other requests ahead of mine, so I figured I was safe to request a bunch of the books. Well, guess what? They all came in at once, so I have about 10 books to read in the next three weeks.

    I am so overwhelmed right now, I don’t even know what the books are about. I’m about to start reading them when I finish doing my WordPress perusal.

    Nancy

    1. Nancy, yes, I have the house to myself as the ‘boys’ have gone to a hurling match so this is pure relaxation and no chores!

      You’re very organised to be taking lists of Time’s best books. I always mean to do those kinds of things but never get round to it.

      Sounds like you’re spoiled for choice now. Interesting how there wasn’t the mad rush on the books that you expected. I think people are reading less and less in the way of full books ~ a personal observation from chatting!

  4. This year I’m documenting each book I read as a tweet – @earthabridge. It feels a bit subversive, as if “food for thought” is equally as important as what I had for lunch, or what I may think about the next election. I am a slow reader but I try to read one book a week. Last week, I enjoyed a Peter Robinson (a Canadian) Inspector Banks novel Strange Affair. Now I’m switching between an Ann Rule true crime and an American classic, The Age of Innocence. And re-reading Kate Braid’s Inward to the Bones: Georgia O’Keeffe’s Journey With Emily Carr. But I still begin every Sunday with the week’s Coronation Street reruns. Confession.

    1. Hi Joan, I love the idea of documenting each book as a tweet. Sounds like you get through a fair few for a ‘slow’ reader.’
      As for Corrie, everyone has to have their relaxations!

  5. I love this poem too Jean! I tend to dip into the books I have .. Unless I travel and then I’ll really get into a good novel. Today I enjoyed some poetry by Danna Faulds. She always inspires me for when I teach yoga. She brings me home ❤

  6. I love this poem Jean – I’m wondering if it was you that introduced me to it (?) Today I’ve read parts of Anne Lamott’s ‘Bird by Bird’, about writing and some of M O Walsh’s ‘My Sunshine Away’ a novel that’s proving very intriguing.

  7. Hey there
    I love Penguin Books, and I love collecting books full stop. But I have to say that I have never seen a Penguin Book with such a lovely cover. The poem…well…I have to make a confession here, I found it really powerful. I think there are times in your life when something you read really speaks to ‘you’ and this is one of those times…lucky me…I hope you all have such a great day:):)

Leave a Reply

