Backseat Kids ~ Five Photos/Five Stories 3

The excitement of  kids bubbled from a car that passed me as I was walking round our block with Puppy Stan this evening. It catapulted me back to Summer holidays and our wild antics in the back of the car. We spent our time waving madly out the back window at the cars behind, at people out walking, at policemen, at farmers driving cattle along country roads, at groups gathered at street corners …..

Happy Days! Photo: Frank Tubridy
Happy Days!
Photo: Frank Tubridy

Those were days long before cars even had radios. Our singing was the blaring music  and the song that still rings in my ears is Ten Green Bottles. Mother led the rhyme games ~ that’s when we got into the habit of making up rhymes with people’s names. When you have a name like Tubridy, people find it hard to get back at you!

And, we all knew that when we reached the outskirts of whatever town we lived in on our return journey, Dad would say: A penny  for whoever’s first to see someone they know.

Funny, I haven’t seen a backseat of kids waving madly at me for years and years now but I’ll tell you, I knew the importance of waving and waving until the car had gone out of sight.

***

Many thanks to Willow for nominating me for this Challenge.

Here are the rules for the “Five Photos Five Stories” challenge:

“Post a photo each day for five consecutive days and attach a story to the photo. It can be fiction or non-fiction, a poem or a short paragraph and each day nominate another blogger for the challenge.

My third nominee for the Five Photos/Fives Stories is Robin at northumbrian:light.  

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

25 thoughts on “Backseat Kids ~ Five Photos/Five Stories 3”

  1. I remember the coupe with a rumble seat..I got to sit in the rumble seat with my dotted swiss parasol. I felt like a queen that you saw on videos at the movies ( I think they called them shots or fillers) at intermission time between pictures. There’s nothing like breathing in the fresh air and having the wind blowing at you ( I had to hold tight to my parasol less it be blown away). It did get hot as the sun would beat down on you ..the reason for my parasol..This was a special time in my life because we had to rely on a friend as we didn’t own a car. I guess riding in the car and having my parasol made an impression on me..

  2. AhA! well Jean they are all so securely lashed down these days that they cannot jump up and wave at you…. safer maybe but not as much fun!! …. Okay worthy birdie Tubridy ❤ 😀

    1. Haha!
      Oh I know that security is a huge issue now. I think though that waving has gone out of fashion in cars. You could still do it if you really wanted to. I think that smartphones have a lot to answer for!

  3. Fabulous image Jean – is it a Morris Oxford? I always liked the indicators that emerged from the upright between the doors. The last/only car I remember having those was my Dad’s Mk1 Ford Consul.

    1. Thanks Robin. I not 100% sure but I suspect it’s a Morris something as we always seemed to have one kind or another. Yes, the upright indicators were cool.
      I hope you’ll take on the Challenge. I couldn’t resist nominating you with this photo!

  4. Wonderful story and memories, Jean, and one that had me smiling of those simpler times. Willow also made a good point about the kids being securely wrapped in their seatbelts nowadays..yes, probably a good thing but also means somethings don’t stay the same. I love the family games, too, which take me back to riding in the car as a family, playing the alphabet game or state game from the license plates. 🙂

  5. Of course these were the times that not everyone owned cars by any means Jean. It must have been a luxury having a Dad with one. Certainly in suburban Birmingham we travelled everywhere by bus – the train on a summer holiday perhaps. The man up the road had a car though and it was a rare treat going off with him on a spin down the country occasionally.

    1. It certainly was a luxury. Father acquired his first car when his father died in the 1940s. He just sat into it and drove from Kilrush to Kilkenny. I think it took about three days but he got there, just about!

Leave a Reply

