Wish You Were Here

G1
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

Today was a smashing day here in Co. Waterford and I had the most delicious swim out at Garrarus Beach early this morning.

While I was soaking up the sea and sun, I was half thinking about son Harry who has hopped over to England for the weekend. Part of the hopping involved him driving me into Waterford in the wee hours so that he could catch a bus to Dublin Airport. Little did I ever think that he’d be doing the driving like that but it’s been our Summer of ‘mother/son’ driving with Bruce Springsteen keeping us company.

Back at home, the little fluffy dog (a cross between at least a sheepdog, terrier, King Charles, Alsatian….)  that Harry rescued a few years ago had clearly been doing a lot more than half thinking about his beloved owner. He had worked himself up into a complete tizzy and practically scratched his neck off.  I suppose I should have anticipated some drama like this as the last time Harry went away the dog almost bit his paw off.

Back to the same vet who mercifully assured me that the neck damage is curable but that the bond between the dog and Harry was quite another matter! Basically if H flees the nest, the dog will have to go with him.

Waiting for Godot
Waiting for Godot

As dusk turned to darkness, I was beginning to wonder about H’s promised phone call. I was here at the computer and called out to hubby if he’d heard from him. He replied as casually as anything:

Oh yeah, he rang a good while ago and said he’s grand. He got cut off so wasn’t on for long.’

The little dog has been bopping around since the phone call and I’m still wondering if fathers have anything like the same bonds with their boys as little dogs and mothers do?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

38 thoughts on “Wish You Were Here”

  1. I so cherish the mother/son moments (when I can get each one individually as well as together). Of course, now that their dad is no longer with us, the moments seem to happen just a wee bit more. I’ll take them while they last!

    1. Dale, yes those mother/son moments are definitely to be cherished. I often wonder how it would be if H had a brother rather than being an only ‘child.’ Interestingly, he says that he would hate it and has developed friendships that are so strong that they are akin to brothers.

      1. Ahhhh can’t hate what you don’t know! Hubby was an only child and hated it – promised himself he’d have more than one child if possible!

        1. That’s really interesting as I would have thought H would be the same but ‘NO.’
          Having been one of three kids, I think having sibs is great.
          It seems that only kids have to be more extrovert than those with sibs or at least work harder at developing strong bonds.

  2. Loving this ocean picture also…We will be taking a short sojourn in Sept. down to the Cape and will have access to the beach with ocean breezes and waves lapping at the shore…I can’t wait…Harrys’ dog seems to have separation anxiety..it’s so sad when our beloved pets miss us so that they can cause problems for themselves.

    1. Hi Joni, I always love the word ‘Cape.’ We don’t have any of them here, at least I don’t think we do. Which one are you heading to?
      Yes, ‘separation anxiety’ is a bit of a business. Maybe he needs therapy, though I suspect it’s a bit late in the day for that now.

      1. We are headed to Yarmouth, the hotel is right on the beach and we will have a beach view..a room with a loft and decks on each floor so hopefully we will have sunny weather to sit on the deck (s)…

  3. I don’t think Dads have the same sense of urgency as we Mums do! That casual answer is just typical my husband would of been the same. Our middle lad is in Spain with friends and even though he is a few days off of 40yrs I still could not rest until he rung me. To Dads I think the bond is with daughters … And you and I have none! ❤

  4. Sweet and a little sad for the pup. I love my cousin’s little dog Tallie, but even if we weren’t allergic to cats a dogs (to my great sorrow), I don’t think we would have a pet. The expense and inconvenience of finding care for them during travels, many of which are last-minute opportunities, would make travel difficult. I have no doubt that both my kids will have pets as soon as they have a place of their own!

    1. Naomi, as we have three dogs, I was going to write a post recently called: ‘Three Great Reasons Not to Go on Holiday.’
      I suppose I can’t imagine life without a dog, having had at least one one all my life. As someone who is allergic to many things, I’m counting myself very lucky reading your comment that dogs aren’t in the mix.

        1. Naomi, I’ve always felt beyond fortunate to have dogs in my life. Must say, I can’t imagine ever having a hamster but I suppose I won’t know unless I try. I don’t think it would last too long with 3 hungry dogs at large.

  5. Funny, in a maddening kind of way, yes? NO, I don’t believe the father/son bond is as strong as the mom/son; it’s a good bond many times, but quite different. My guy would do that same thing as yours – forget to mention the phone call, which I would have been waiting for with bated breath. Oh well. I guess we’re more like a waiting fluffy dog… 🙂

    1. Fluffy dog started whining for no apparent reason and about 5 minutes later Harry let himself in downstairs. The reunion was a delight to behold. Fluff flying and lots of chuckles!

  6. I love this gorgeous photo, Jean, and would love to be there right now! 🙂 And I feel for Harry’s dog. Our dog has grown up a bit and gotten better but he had some separation anxiety in the beginning, too, after adopting him, as well, and it’s so heartbreaking. It would be so much easier if they could understand that we are coming back to them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

