Blogging Mindsets

Ivy

I’ve been at this blogging lark for four and a half years now and I’ve become more and more aware in recent times how much my perspective on it has changed.

The dominant change is the extent to which I find myself relating thoughts, days, events, photographs, experiences, places, expressions … pretty much everything to different blogs and bloggers I’ve come to know since I started.

I’m not sure if there’s a continuum related to the blogging experience:

1. Dipping tentative toe in water and nervously pressing PUBLISH

2. Seeing the mist rising to reveal the vastness of blogland

3. First ‘hellos’ from fellow bloggers

4. Secret visits to the domains of the ‘great.’

5. Plunging in and leaving comments on blogs of what feel like kindred spirits.

6. Realising that every single blog is different and that bloggers have different aims and ambitions.

7. Posting to please and get the buzz from rising stats

8. Building relationships with fellow bloggers and getting to know their styles, tempos,  interests, likes and dislikes.

9. Taking courage to fiddle around with themes, widgets …..

10. Wondering if the time invested in blogging is worth it

11. Taking a blogging break to see what the impact will be

12. Returning to ‘old friends’ and new followers

13. Pausing at a crossroads with various options:

Blog to please

Blog to compete

Blog to connect

I took that ‘Blog to Connect’ road a while back and I guess that’s how I’ve ended up where I am now.

I’d no notion where blogging would bring me when I started out and I’ve less clue now where it will lead in the years to come.

I’d love to hear about about YOUR journey thus far in Blogland. 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

29 thoughts on “Blogging Mindsets”

  1. I started just to see if I could get my head round the technical side… then Nick’s story needed to be shared… and the School and the books… But I found friends and a sense of community, lots of helping hands and shared ideas and laughter. Now, I’m just at home here 🙂

      1. I first set the blog up in April 2011, but after posting twice, just left it for over a year… so really, the blog has been active for three years now… and I don’t think I’ve missed a day posting since about Feb last year.

  2. I used to have a blog, but then I realised I was using it as a platform to explore my feelings about certain issues. I found that I was starting to express my annoyance about the backward steps we seem to be taking now in regard to issues such as climate change, marriage, and gender equality. So, I decided to stop and spend my time reading the uplifting, serious at times, and heartwarming posts that people like yourself produce. So, now I am enjoying the blogland space:)

    1. Olga, what an interesting story. I wish you hadn’t stopped blogging as I’m sure your posts were full of interesting thoughts and ideas. However, I can understand what you did stop.
      Glad that blogland is now a place of enjoyment.

  3. I usually respond to things that are of interest to me..or if someone is looking for information and I can be of help..I will answer. I do like to show my knitting projects from time to time and I love taking pictures of Nature especially sunrise and sunset and the unusual..so if this is a form of blogging I am guilty..in a good way. Oh and I do give my thoughts on things if asked to.

  4. I blog to connect also, Jean, and have been doing it for about the same time as you. Several months ago I was almost ready to quit from burn out. Then my son helped me renovate my blog and it’s been a refreshing change to keep me going. In the beginning, I wasn’t sure what to expect and I still get a little nervous before clicking on “publish.” Although when I look back I can honestly say that my writing has evolved, which means I have learned so much just from reading other bloggers work. It’s been an online classroom at no cost, except of time. Over the years I’ve developed a following of wonderful friends and for an amateur who simply enjoys writing poetry from the heart, I’m grateful beyond words..with this being said, I believe right now I’m just going with the flow and like you, have no idea as to where blogging will lead me, but will continue to enjoy the fun, the friendships and the learning…(sorry for the novel again) 🙂 xx

    1. Hi Lauren, how is it that I always expect you to write in verse!!!
      Isn’t it amazing how renovation of the blog can make such a difference. It seems to come naturally to some but I must say I’m always procrastinating on that, mainly because of the technical issues that can arise.
      Why didn’t I get my son to adore computing and blogs etc.!!!

  5. Hello my blogger friend! You are getting to know me as I pretty much blather on about whatever is going on in my life that I am willing to share… 🙂
    I’m totally in this for the community. (It is funny, both you and another blogger are currently exploring the “why we blog” thing! (Here’s one link to his series… https://afrankangle.wordpress.com/2015/07/14/on-the-blogging-community/ )
    I started out to see if I had anything to say that anyone would want to read! I have found so much more! The friendships created run deeper than I could ever have hoped for (or dreamed could be).
    I’ve no idea what my stats are and am fairly computer-non-savvy so every time I think of modifying anything, I break out into a sweat. Maybe my son will be able to help me one day!!!

    1. Dale, thanks very much for the link.
      I know all about the breaking into a sweat over the modifications. Don’t hold your breath re son revamping. You’ll have to teach him to drive first!!!!

      1. Oh please…the one who is learning to drive can barely turn on the computer! (Stranfe for a 17-yr old) The 15-year old is ny computer whiz kid! I still have hope!

  6. Mmm – I’ve been blogging even before the word was invented I think. I simply wanted to record certain things and if others wanted to read them, fine. I wasn’t that fussed either way. Over time I’ve learnt to connect with others a bit more, take an interest in their worlds and make some very good virtual friends. But even now every blog I post is for the simple pleasure of doing so without the expectation that anyone will ever read it.

      1. Haha! You won’t find my earliest efforts, lost in the mists of time. Just as well I think. Oct ’08 is the earliest online (when I was living in Dublin) but I was blogging for about three years prior to that.

  7. I do this for connection and community Jean. As a coach and yoga teacher I post what I feel someone might appreciate hearing. There is usually some particular person in my mind or I listen to my intuition about what needs to be said that day. I send the message out to a particular person knowing it will hopefully land with others too.
    It was unexpected to meet a whole community of like minded bloggers! It is so nourishing and inspiring to find community like this.
    Thank you for asking the question!

    1. Hi Val, how interesting that you generally have a particular person in mind when posting.
      I agree about the unexpectedness of finding a whole community of like minded bloggers.

  8. My journey has been similar Jean and I soon learned the value of blogging to connect. Like you, I often think of other bloggers in everyday life – thinking that such a person would appreciate this or thinking of my experiences in different ways because of something I’ve read.

  9. Well that publish button has definitely grown on me, though I spent the first full year of my blogging life scared stiff over it! Probably the best and most surprising thing about blogging is feeling like we actually do get to know people… like you, way over there across the ocean! 🙂 ♥ ❤

Leave a Reply

