A Soft Day

Today was what is traditionally described in Ireland as ‘a soft day.’ That’s a nice term for a misty, drizzly, warmish kind of a day when you think you’ll never see a blue sky again.

When I peeped out the front door in semi-despair this morning, the haunting look of our Monkey Puzzle tree carried me away from thoughts of blue and the blues:

Monkey Puzzle
Monkey Puzzle

Softness was playing in the prickly branches and the greens were greener than green.

All thoughts of staying in and waiting for the ‘day to rise’ left me and Stan and I headed to a deserted Garrarus Beach where the tide was fully out. It certainly wasn’t the stuff of picture postcards looking out to sea but the shoreline carried all sorts of soft promises:

Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford
Garrarus Beach, Co. Waterford

This was a day to focus on the gifts that the high tide had left:

Seaweed and Stones
Seaweed and Stones
Soft Curves
Soft Curves

Strong colours and soft textures entwined like lovers.  Nature playing with us; us playing with nature:

Stan ~ King of the Castle
Stan ~ King of the Castle

And all the while, the damp daisies on the cliff face gleamed:

Lovingly
Lovingly

As we were leaving the beach an elderly man who was well-wrapped up in fisherman’s gear gave us a wave and shouted over:

Soft day, thank God.’ 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

21 thoughts on “A Soft Day”

  1. Stan is one lucky dog – getting to visit the beach regularly with his human. I loved days like that when I lived by the ocean Jean. The quietness and the fact that no harsh sounds can even happen. It is as if there is the sea and the air and something in between the two that permeates all it touches.

    Cool pics and great descriptions.

  2. Wonderful captures Jean. I love the seaweed .. and Stan of course!
    We are haven a soft day here. Thank you for giving me this description … I was thinking it was dreary and wet 😉

        1. Well there’s a certain sort of wet day that’s a soft day. It can’t be cold or windy or roaring with thunder. Funny a guy met me out in a thick drizzle a day or two ago – I was drenched- and he defined it as a soft day. I don’t think he was experiencing the downpour as he had a brolly. So there’s a lot of subtle issues to be taken into account in designating a day as ‘soft.’

Leave a Reply

