No Ordinary Sunday ~ Part 2

Passion
Passion

July 12, 2015 is winding to a close here in Ireland and it’s tinged with a sadness which I feel every year as Wimbledon ends. It has been a brilliant two weeks ~ and already I’m dreaming of next year.

I was hoping to see Andy Murray win and when he was out, then Roger Federer was my next hope but alas ….. Brings me back to years I sobbed over Billie Jean King, when son Harry was inconsolable over Lindsay Davenport.

And while Roger was losing, the Waterford hurling team were being edged out by Tipperary. My heart bled as the team played their hearts out and we now have to face the famous ‘back door’ and meet Dublin in the knock-outs instead of sitting pretty in the semi-finals. This is serious stuff for me, as you can see, and it will take a while to deal with it.

Sport is a great teacher; always has been. It’s all about highs and lows, winning and losing. Most of all, it’s character-forming and shows the importance of talent, dedication, teamwork, physical fitness, mental agility, strategic thinking and passion.

So, as always, I return to Rudyard Kipling’s great poem, If, as it never fails to bring calm and perspective about both sport and life.

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

12 thoughts on “No Ordinary Sunday ~ Part 2”

  1. If … We supported the other player and team … What a different feeling we would have. It’s all about perspective and how we become attached to what we want and the outcomes we hope for. Its just one side of a coin Jean. When we can accept and embrace what is, then we find peace…. It’s just a while for the go to catch on 😉
    xo

    1. Hi Val, thanks for an interesting perspective. Yes, winning and losing are part of life and sport. I wonder, thpugh about the accepting and embracing ‘what is,’ as we have so much to gain from getting involved and experiencing the communal sense of elation or disappointment when our player or team wins/loses.
      Accepting ‘what is’ may bring peace but I’m glad that people don’t always do it as it’s so often those who rebel against ‘what is’ that press society forward to fight injustices and ensure the betterment of the lives of the vulnerable.
      As for the sporting side, no doubt we learn more from losing than winning. Experience is a hard but wise teacher!

  2. Wonderful poem Jean – It’s been decades since I’ve read it and I’ve never heard it read. So true. it is, so true. And I think that the more I see of life, the more I understand the poem. Thank You.

  3. I was up late at night, watching the tennis as it was played – live! So a week of very late nights for us but we absolutely LOVED IT! The semi-finals were just as intense as the finals – excellent tennis played all round!

  4. And another great thing about sport is that there’s always next week or next season Jean. Always hope, even if it’s continually dashed. Waterford did fine by all accounts and, like Cork, still march on and if (when) knocked out can regroup for next time.

  5. If you can dream—and not make dreams your master;
    If you can think—and not make thoughts your aim;
    If you can meet with Triumph and Disaster
    And treat those two impostors just the same;
    If you can bear to hear the truth you’ve spoken
    Twisted by knaves to make a trap for fools,
    Or watch the things you gave your life to, broken,
    And stoop and build ’em up with worn-out tools:

    my favourite verse of those wise wise words!

Leave a Reply

