The Learner Driver

I put out a call for HELP  in late November as I was approaching the role of being the experienced driver to accompany our son who was about to start learning to drive.

Well, there was a bit of a delay but we are now four weeks into it and I’d like to thank you all for your words of advice and reassurance.

It’s proving to be quite enjoyable, much to my amazement, and it’s like we’ve developed a brand new bond. That’s not to say that there aren’t some hairy scary moments when I’m grinding my teeth and gripping my hands so tightly that the blood supply as well as my breathing stop.

What has surprised me most of all is how the colour yellow and my perceptions of it have changed very dramatically.

There was a time when yellow was about nature:

Y2

But now it’s all about road signs like this:

Y3

and this:

Y4

I’m looking forward to the day when yellow and driving look like this again:

Copper Coast, Co. Waterford
Copper Coast, Co. Waterford

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

14 thoughts on “The Learner Driver”

  1. My daughter almost banned me from being with her and my husband as I’m a teeth knasher..while my husband (her dad) chomped on a bag of chips…She did get her license without a hitch, I’m happy to say…

  2. Luckily for my parents neither could drive so professional instructors had the pain when I learnt. What a job – I’m sure the rosary beads are considered essential to the job, in Ireland anyway.

      1. Well I had an aunt in Dunmanway that said the Rosary non-stop sitting in the passenger seat of her husband’s car while he drove. When I was in the back and he’d spend half the journey turned around chatting to me 🙂

Leave a Reply

