Just a Second

I love the idea of our ‘leap second’ tonight. Time fascinates me ~ how it can slow down and speed up in such amazing ways.

Some of our radio presenters here in Ireland were suggesting today that a second is no big deal and were questioning what all the fuss is about.

There mere mention of seconds brings me back to the old wooden kitchen clock with the very loud tick-tock that was a part of my growing up. So many moments spent watching the second hand move ~ moments of wild anticipation as well as angst.

And, of course, a second is like an age when it comes to games like tennis. Hitting the ball that second earlier can make such a difference as can reacting and getting moving a split second sooner to a perfect drop-shot.

How about the zillion thoughts that can flash through one’s mind in a single second when senses are heightened. Or, the second that one first meets the eyes of a person who is to play a huge role in one’s life.

Seconds that have passed are gone forever and so much can be done in a single second. The click of a camera, for example, capturing a moment forever.

Here’s the extra  photo that I seized tonight. I know that this lovely marigold in my rockery will never look quite the same again:

Marigold
Marigold

 

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

16 thoughts on “Just a Second”

  1. Alot can happen in a second or a split second…the course of lives have been changed for the better or the worse in a second. When one is waiting a second can seem like an eternity. We can change our minds in a second either with elation or regrets.. “Time waits for no Man”….

  2. Thought provoking Jean. Elapsed Time is very very complex, although we don’t much notice. I suspect that it is the physical representation of the metaphysical concept of integration. Space and time are two halves of some whole – change one and you change the other. The big question, of course, is what is that whole? As far as the added second, it’s just to adjust our clocks because the earth doesn’t spin at a constant speed. It’s been slowing recently (last 50 years), so we have to add a second every now and then to keep the sun at the same place in the sky at the same time every day. It really is just for our convenience, it doesn’t reflect any cosmological meaning. And it is entirely possible the earth may speed up and we may have to subtract seconds in the future.

    Really fun topic Jean – I wish we could sit down and discuss it over a glass of wine – I have the sneaking suspicion that your discussion of time is not quite as clinical as mine. I’d be interested in hearing your comments.

    P.S. Beautiful flower. 😀

  3. That’s a beautiful marigold second! It’s so true that each second is unique and once it goes by, it’s gone forever. We need to appreciate those seconds more.

  4. I have an old clock that belonged to my grandmother, then to my mother. To me, it sounds like ‘home’, and I love hearing it strike. It loses time though, and needs winding more than the every-8-days it used to. Leap-seconds would not be enough for it — I think it needs several leap-minutes per week. – thanks for a great topic and a lovely marigold!

  5. That is certainly an intriguing post Jean. The concept of what can happen – or not happen – in that time is intriguing and can change the course of history. I like the fact that there were the Calendar Riots in 1752 when people rioted over the new calendar demanding their eleven days back 🙂

Leave a Reply

