Love All

Giddy

I’ve been giddy with excitement over the last while waiting for Wimbledon to start and certainly haven’t been disappointed today with lots of great matches and, of course, the perfect excuse to indulge in scrumptious strawberries and cream.

I simply can’t imagine living in a house that wasn’t tennis mad. Hubby and I met through our love of tennis and son, Harry, is a total addict as well.

This is the fortnight of the year when there are no issues whatsoever about the remote control, which can be such a pain in the butt for the other 50 weeks!

So, don’t be surprised if I’m a little giddy over the next two weeks!

Roger Federrer's Colours!
Roger Federrer’s Colours!

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

18 thoughts on “Love All”

  1. You have another tennis fan in me. Tuned in for the day and enjoyed the tension between generated by superb fast and powerful play. Enjoy the two weeks.

    1. Hi Dale, I’d say we may be a little bit unusual in that. Mind you, I was rolling tennis balls to Harry on his high chair table to be sure that he would think that tennis was a ‘natural’ part of life!

      1. Of course! Like the hockey afficionados who dress their kids in jerseys, play street hockey, watch the games with the kids from birth, get them skates almost before they walk….all in an effort to ensure a love of the game!

  2. Okay…I’m not a such knowledgeable tennis fan but I do love to watch some of the finals and I love to learn more about the contestants. And I was sad to think that Hewitt wont be on the ‘singles’ courts competing anymore. They make it look so easy but as an ex climber, skier and cyclist, I know that their journey has involved lots of sacrifcies and family support. I do so love strawberries and cream and to see so many punnets in your photo has me thinking ‘not long to go before we can get some too’. Spring is not far away and then summer fruits…’yeah’… Enjoy the wonderful fortnight while you watch the tennis on tv.

    1. Hi Olga, Hewitt is my son’s favourite player and he was devastated that he lost yesterday. What a wonderful career he’s had!
      I hope you don’t have to wait toooooooooo long for a warm strawberry!

  3. Gosh – this takes me back Jean. Wimbledon used to be such a big part of my life at this time of year too. Everyone was talking about it and watching it with lighthearted – or serious – interest. There was a camaraderie over volleys and serves; strawberries and cream; the weather and wearing summer dresses. I do miss it!
    I think the US equivalent is the Baseball world series in September… not the same from my perspective 😉

      1. Its a magical time! My Dad always said he would take me some day … but it never happened. We’d watch it on the tv together and Mum would get strawberries and cream for the family 🙂

      1. I agree, both are great to watch and would be happy for either to win. We know that Roger is nearing the end of his beautiful career though so it would be great to see a couple last wins.

  4. That’s great you all share the same passion, Jean. My hubby and I used to play a lot when we were younger and still do occasionally but not as often. It’s always been a favorite though…Enjoy!

  5. That is awesome Jean. I’ve never been in a family that had a shared sport like that. Cool. And I love strawberries – but they are not ripe here yet. We can get the big berries with tasteless white centers from California almost year round but they are not sweet with the soft texture that locals have. In all fairness, the California strawberries have to travel a week and 3,000 mils to get here, so they have to be hard to survive.

    I took a few tennis lessons when I was young but didn’t follow up afterwards,

    Enjoy!

  6. The trouble with tennis is that you can’t pronounce the names these days. You knew where you were with Ann Jones, Virginia Wade and John Lloyd. Still I’m perking up now that the British boy is into Week 2 (to revert to Scots boy once he loses 🙂 )

    1. Do you remember when they couldn’t pronounce Navratilova? She certainly saw to it that everyone could eventually!
      Andy looked a bit iffy yesterday. Hope he’s got the heebie-jeebies out of his system and is the winner by this time next week. It’s a week I don’t want to end, though!

Leave a Reply

