‘Your Stats are Booming!’

I was sitting here last night writing a post and moving back and forth to Twitter when I noticed the little red dot that carried the message ‘Your Stats are Booming.’

Clearly somebody somewhere was having a ‘sit down’ on Social Bridge and taking a good look around. I was chuffed in one way that another human being was taking the time to read through so many of my posts. But, at another level, it felt like there was an intruder snooping around and rummaging through my belongings.

This has been playing on my mind a bit as I’ve been on my daily round today and I was thinking how even one ‘Like’ or Comment would have made all the difference.

It also brought home to me how Stats are not the issue at all for me when it comes to blogging. Stats without human connection have a hollowness and an eerie echo.

Hopefully my visitor will return and leave a ‘calling card.’ Calling cards always make me think of Pride and PrejudiceΒ and my fancy for Mr. Darcy as I studied that great book in school for the Inter Cert in the 1970s.

Studying Hard for the Inter Cert! Photo: Frank Tubridy
Studying Hard for the Inter Cert!
Photo: Frank Tubridy

And this was the song that played over and over that year as I waited for the State exams to start as they will for so many Irish kids next Tuesday!

How times have changed or have they?

Author: socialbridge

I am a sociologist and writer from Ireland. I have worked as a social researcher for 30 years and have had a lifelong passion for writing. My main research interests relate to health care and I love to write both non-fiction and poetry.

49 thoughts on “‘Your Stats are Booming!’”

  1. Well did they not leave a like or even a hello? I know what you mean but I do like to have people visit …. I write what I feel and I am often amazed that anyone else likes it.
    You look so young in the photo ..lovingly taken by dad! I also remember that beautiful song!! πŸ™‚

    1. No, not even a ‘hello.’
      Oh I agree that it’s nice to have people visit but somehow last night the silence of this person was deafening!
      Wasn’t it a great song! (I was all of 14 shssh)

        1. Threatening is probably too strong a word. I think it’s different if one is offline when it’s happening but the oddness is knowing it’s going on when one is actually writing on the blog.

  2. Yeh…I’m on team Darcy too!I got that booming stats recently too, just over the last few days, and while it didn’t disturb me now that you say….or write it…it would be nice to know who is out there. maybe someones researching a holiday to the south east?Many people don’t make comments…I am always surprised to meet people in the real world who follow my blog but there’s been not a peep from them online. Sometimes its like they think they know me from my blog, as if they don’t realise relationships are a two way street. I get that from old friends who ‘lurk’ on faceBook but don’t post…do they really they are maintaining a connection?Makes me feel odd…well odder…I always appreciate people taking the time to say hi, even just a ‘Like’ does the job. Nice shot by the way…a pin up! πŸ™‚

    1. I don’t know that I’d have put you in the Mr D’Arcy camp, Clare. No idea why I say that, maybe a more artistic type.
      Maybe we can take credit for a rise in tourist numbers to Tramore this season!

        1. Looks like I need to do some further research on Mr Darcy! If you see me standing on the Prom with a questionnaire over the weekend accosting women of a certain age, you’ll know what I’m at.

  3. I think the WordPress stats can be a little misleading Jean, as it’s unclear whether spammers get counted as views, and the page views rarely equate to the totals. Treating them with a pinch of salt as you do seems the best approach, and after all, most genuinely interested readers will at the very least leave a ‘like’.

  4. The same thing happened to me recently and it was an old friend who’d discovered my name on the net (he was new to the internet) and just ‘wandered’ around my blog. So don’t worry about it, it’s probably someone who knows you… now a little better. πŸ™‚

  5. I agree with you Jean! Its feels a little weird without a calling card.
    Love the Roberta Flack song … brings back studying memories for me too along with Stevie Wonder and falling in love

      1. Some say that our soul chooses the family we are born into. Choosing to be one of triplets brings a whole other life lesson along with it don’t you think?… πŸ˜‰

  6. I love that song also..she sings it with such emotion..I just met our fifth great grandchild.. Quinn Rose, who was born a week ago..Her Mom said when she saw her she shed tears of joy,it brought back memories of our children when they were born….I also want to comment on your picture of how attractive you were at that young carefree age..a moment in time, that we all would like to recapture..

  7. I do love that ‘stats are booming’ comment. Recently I posted a letter from my brother (who is gay) and my stats went mad (3000 views in a day) I was thrilled, but feck him it wasn’t my writing. I told him he is now banned! It will be a while before I match him.
    Who ever it was must have enjoyed what they were reading. Maybe they’ll be back and let you know.

    1. Tric, I was among that 3,000! It was a brilliant letter. Hard to believe it’s only a week ago today that we had the referendum. In fact, it’s impossible to believe it.

  8. Jean, sometimes when I’m pressed for time I sort of browse through as many blogs that I follow as possible and often don’t leave a comment or a like. (I do try to ‘like’ though). Often I think I’ll come back when I have time for a meaningful comment, but sometimes that doesn’t happen; life happens instead. It might have been me catching up, no idea. Anyway, I always enjoy your posts and still try to find time to read some of the older ones, too. ~ Linne

    1. I meant to add, that when I hear the Roberta Flack song I think of gazing into a new-born’s eyes for the first time. My second son was born the year after that came out and I still connect the two. It’s a lovely melody and her voice is haunting, I find. ~ Linne

  9. Team Darcy here. And sometimes, an ache for those ‘simpler’ times so deep I dream about it. But in the meantime, love your vintage photo and song. Do you find, like me, that sometimes when you hear a song from your past, your eyes mist over and nostalgia sets in? Just for a minute or two, but it’s rather a beautiful moment, all the same.
    And I agree, stats mean nothing. But comments from happy readers mean a lot.
    I always enjoy your posts!

  10. I was into Mr Rochester, too!
    Talking about blog stalkers, what twitches me up are the silent followers who you can’t check out, as their blogs are private and require their permission to follow. I have a few of those sort of followers with gravatars that deter me from ever mentioning religion or politics on my blog!

  11. Well written and I can relate, too, Jean..hopefully the mystery will be solved soon to put you at peace. πŸ™‚ Love the photo, the book and the song and I believe times have changed and technology has a lot to do with it; some good, some bad…have a good weekend!

  12. Here is my calling card! Thanks for stopping by my blog recently. At least your stats were booming. Even if I visit a new blog I at least try to make one comment. Loved the photo!

  13. I get these messages from time to time too and I feel exactly the same… Are they snooping around or what? πŸ™‚

    1. Hi Malin, I suspect that it’s people who land on the blog from some search and then find themselves wandering around.
      I think I’ve done the same myself without even realising it.

Leave a Reply

